Back to Articles
63102026 Q2 / First HalfPrimeJGAAP

ISEKI & (6310) FY2026 Q2 Earnings Report

For FY2026 Q2, revenue came to ¥101.9B (+1.0% year on year) and operating income ¥5.6B (+28.0%). The segment drivers and cash flow follow.

ISEKI & CO.,LTD.

Machinery


Quick View

MetricCurrent PeriodSame Period of Previous YearYoY
Revenue¥1019.2B¥1008.7B+1.0%
Operating Income¥55.8B¥43.6B+28.0%
Ordinary Income¥52.0B¥37.9B+37.1%
Net Income¥34.5B¥34.1B+1.3%
ROE4.1%4.3%-

Executive Summary

Revenue and earnings increased during the quarter, but challenges remain regarding earnings quality, including the shift of Operating Cash Flow (OCF) into negative territory. Revenue was ¥1019.2B (+1.0% YoY), Operating Income was ¥55.8B (+28.0%), and Ordinary Income was ¥52.0B (+37.1%), with the rate of earnings growth accelerating. However, Net Income remained limited to ¥34.5B (+1.3%), weighed down by the absence of the gain on the sale of fixed assets recorded in the previous year (¥11.1B) and extraordinary losses of ¥3.9B, including ¥2.1B in impairment losses. The primary driver of earnings growth was an improvement in the gross profit margin resulting from a lower cost ratio (31.5%, +2.4pt YoY), which offset the increase in the SG&A ratio (26.0%).

Factors Affecting Earnings

【Revenue】Revenue was ¥1019.2B, representing a modest 1.0% increase YoY. As the Company operates as a single segment, namely the Agricultural-Related Business, a breakdown by business is not disclosed. However, progress against the full-year plan of ¥1800.0B was 56.6%; considering the forecast of a second-half-weighted performance (full-year YoY -3.1%), progress can be regarded as broadly in line with the plan.

【Profit and Loss】The cost of sales ratio improved from 70.9% in the previous year to 68.5%, and the gross profit margin increased to 31.5% (+2.4pt YoY). SG&A expenses increased to ¥265.4B (SG&A ratio 26.0%, +0.5pt YoY), but the improvement in gross profit exceeded this increase, resulting in Operating Income of ¥55.8B (+28.0% YoY; Operating Income margin 5.5%). Ordinary Income was ¥52.0B (+37.1% YoY), supported by non-operating income such as dividend income of ¥2.0B, although interest expense of ¥7.8B remained a significant burden. Net Income growth slowed to ¥34.5B (+1.3% YoY), affected by extraordinary losses of ¥3.9B, comprising impairment losses of ¥2.1B and losses on the disposal and sale of fixed assets of ¥1.8B. Overall, Revenue and earnings increased, but the primary driver of earnings growth was cost control, while Net Income growth was relatively constrained by temporary factors.

Segment Analysis

The Company operates as a single segment, the “Agricultural-Related Business,” and does not disclose performance by segment.

Key Financial Indicators

【Profitability】The Operating Income margin improved to 5.5%, up +1.2pt from 4.3% in the same period of the previous year, while the gross profit margin also increased to 31.5% (+2.4pt YoY). Meanwhile, the Net Income margin remained broadly unchanged at 3.4%, compared with 3.4% in the previous year, as the occurrence of extraordinary losses offset the improvement in margins. 【Cash Quality】ROE was 4.1%; given that OCF was negative ¥26.4B, there appears to be a delay in converting Net Income into cash. 【Investment Efficiency】Total assets expanded to ¥2239.2B (+6.9% YoY), while Revenue growth remained limited to +1.0%, indicating that investment is leading from the perspective of asset efficiency. 【Financial Soundness】The Equity Ratio improved to 37.3% from 35.2% in the previous year, and Net Assets increased to ¥835.4B (+6.5% YoY). However, long-term borrowings were ¥188.4B, and short-term borrowings are also trending upward, indicating a level at which interest expense requires monitoring.

Cash Flow Analysis

OCF deteriorated substantially to negative ¥26.4B from positive ¥45.1B in the previous year, and cash conversion also lagged when compared with Net Income of ¥34.5B. The primary factor was an increase in trade receivables (-¥89.7B), as higher shipments during the demand season and a lengthening collection cycle placed pressure on working capital. Investing Cash Flow was -¥88.9B, with active capital investment continuing, centered on the acquisition of property, plant and equipment and intangible assets (-¥88.4B). As a result, Free Cash Flow was substantially negative at -¥115.4B, while Financing Cash Flow was +¥53.4B, funded by short- and long-term borrowings. Cash and deposits declined to ¥71.3B, reinforcing a structure in which investment and increased working capital are supported by external financing.

Earnings Quality

While the increase in earnings for the period was primarily supported by an improvement in recurring earning power, Net Income was significantly affected by temporary factors. Non-operating income was ¥8.2B, centered on relatively stable items such as dividend income of ¥2.0B and foreign exchange gains of ¥1.2B. However, interest expense of ¥7.8B accounted for a recurring burden within non-operating expenses of ¥11.9B. Extraordinary income was ¥0.6B, compared with extraordinary losses of ¥3.9B, comprising impairment losses of ¥2.1B and losses on the disposal and sale of fixed assets of ¥1.8B, thereby weighing on net profit. The absence of the one-time gain on the sale of fixed assets of ¥11.1B recorded in the previous year also contributed to the slowdown in Net Income growth. Comprehensive Income was ¥63.1B, substantially exceeding Net Income of ¥34.5B, primarily due to a ¥27.6B increase from valuation differences on securities. As this difference reflects valuation factors arising from market fluctuations and does not necessarily represent the Company’s recurring earning power, the gap from Net Income should be distinguished as an impact of asset valuation.

Earnings Forecast and Guidance

The full-year forecast is Revenue of ¥1800.0B (-3.1% YoY), Operating Income of ¥60.0B (+42.0%), and Ordinary Income of ¥49.0B (+18.9%), with no revision during the quarter. Progress against the full-year forecast was 56.6% for Revenue, 92.9% for Operating Income, and 106.1% for Ordinary Income, indicating that progress on the earnings front is ahead of schedule. This suggests that the benefits of cost improvements in the first half emerged earlier than expected, and that the full-year plan may conservatively estimate a slowdown in demand during the second half.

Shareholder Returns

The full-year dividend forecast is ¥45.00, resulting in a Payout Ratio of approximately 33.9% against the full-year EPS forecast of ¥132.59. There was no revision to the dividend forecast during the quarter. While cash dividend payments amounted to ¥9.08B, Free Cash Flow was substantially negative at -¥115.4B, indicating that the dividend for the period was effectively supported not by cash generated from operating activities but by external financing, including borrowings. No share repurchases have been disclosed, and the shareholder return policy is centered on dividends.

Risk Factors

  1. Deterioration in working capital efficiency: Trade receivables increased 34.2% YoY to ¥355.5B, becoming the primary cause of negative OCF (-¥26.4B). A lengthening collection cycle could affect liquidity and cash management.

  2. Financial expense burden: Interest expense was ¥7.8B, while short-term borrowings increased 26.2% YoY, strengthening the Company’s reliance on interest-bearing debt. Changes in the interest-rate environment could affect future earnings.

  3. Volatility in temporary gains and losses: The Company recorded extraordinary losses of ¥3.9B during the period, including impairment losses of ¥2.1B. If one-time gains such as the ¥11.1B gain on the sale of fixed assets recorded in the previous year do not recur, they may become a source of volatility in Net Income.

Industry Benchmark (For Reference; Compiled by the Company)

Industry Benchmark (manufacturing)

Profitability and Returns

MetricCompanyMedian (IQR)Delta
Operating Income Margin5.5%9.7% (5.4%–23.7%)−4.2pt
Net Income Margin3.4%5.4% (1.3%–20.1%)−2.0pt

The Company’s profitability is below the industry median and ranks relatively low within the manufacturing sector.

Growth and Capital Efficiency

MetricCompanyMedian (IQR)Delta
Revenue Growth Rate (YoY)1.0%10.6% (-3.4%–25.4%)−9.6pt

Revenue growth also remains substantially below the industry median, indicating a moderate level of top-line growth within the industry.

※Source: Compiled by the Company

Key Points from the Financial Results

  1. In terms of profitability, the Operating Income margin improved +1.2pt YoY, while the gross profit margin increased +2.4pt, confirming an improvement in profitability centered on cost control. Progress toward the full-year earnings forecast is also running ahead of schedule.

  2. Meanwhile, OCF was negative ¥26.4B, creating a substantial divergence from Net Income of ¥34.5B. The increase in trade receivables, the primary cause, should be viewed as a point of concern regarding the conversion of earnings into cash.

  3. Investing Cash Flow was -¥88.9B, indicating that active capital investment is continuing, with the funding supplemented by increased borrowings. Going forward, the realization of investment benefits and structural improvement in cash flow will be key points.

Theoretical Share Price (For Reference)

This is a mechanically calculated reference range based solely on publicly available data using a residual income model (Ohlson-type model with an explicit 5-year fade). It is not a forecast of the market share price or a recommendation of any specific investment action.

ScenarioTheoretical Share Price
bear¥2,906
base¥2,946
bull¥2,981
Calculation AssumptionValue
Book Value per Share (BPS)¥3,471
Adjusted Forecast EPS¥145.8
Cost of Equity r9.77% (10-year government bond 2.77% + equity risk premium 6.00% + size premium 1.00%)
Residual Income Persistence Factor ω / Explicit Forecast Period0.62 / 5 years
Assumed Payout Ratio33.9%
Forecast EPS Confidence Adjustment×1.100 (based on progress ahead of the full-year forecast)
Implied PBR / PER0.85x / 20.2x

Sensitivity: ¥2,865–¥3,031 at ±1% for the Cost of Equity, and ¥2,929–¥2,957 at ±0.1 for ω.

Notes:

  • As Net Income progress against the full-year forecast (103%) exceeds the standard level (50%), forecast EPS has been adjusted upward within a maximum range of +10% (because companies with progress ahead of schedule tend to outperform their forecasts; the adjustment may be excessive for businesses with strong seasonality).
  • Net Income is substantially compressed relative to Operating Income due to the tax burden, acquisition-related expenses, and non-controlling interests, among other factors (Net Income ÷ Operating Income 50%). This value reflects that compression at face value; if the factors are temporary, underlying earning power may be higher.
  • As forecast ROE is below the Cost of Equity, the theoretical value is below Book Value per Share.
  • Net Assets at the end of the quarter are used (there is a timing difference from the full-year forecast).

(Calculation model: Residual Income Model / Interest-rate reference month: 2026-07 / This value does not forecast or guarantee the future share price)


This report is an earnings analysis document automatically generated by AI based on XBRL financial results data. It does not recommend investment in any specific security. The industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the Company based on publicly disclosed financial results data. Investment decisions should be made at your own responsibility, and after consulting a professional adviser as necessary.

---End of Report---


AI Financial Analysis

Executive Summary

Iseki & Co. delivered a strong first-half operating result for FY2026 Q2, although cash generation and refinancing dependence materially weaken the quality of the headline earnings improvement. Revenue increased 1.0% year on year to ¥101.92bn. Operating income rose 28.0% to ¥5.58bn, materially outpacing sales growth. Ordinary income increased 37.1% to ¥5.20bn. Profit attributable to owners of the parent declined 5.1% to ¥3.11bn, despite the operating improvement. The operating margin expanded by 115 basis points to 5.5% from 4.3% in the prior-year period. Gross margin expanded by 239 basis points to 31.5%, indicating better gross profitability. However, the SG&A-to-sales ratio increased by approximately 124 basis points to 26.0%, absorbing roughly half of the gross-margin improvement. Net margin declined by around 20 basis points to 3.0%, reflecting the burden of non-operating costs, taxes and extraordinary losses. Interest expense of ¥0.78bn exceeded interest income of ¥0.09bn and remained a meaningful drag on pre-tax earnings. The period also included a ¥0.21bn impairment loss, while gains on asset sales were only ¥0.06bn, creating a modest net extraordinary loss. Operating cash flow was negative ¥2.65bn, compared with ¥3.11bn of profit attributable to owners, and free cash flow was negative ¥11.54bn. The negative cash conversion was principally associated with a ¥8.97bn increase in trade receivables, alongside ongoing inventory funding needs. Investing cash flow of negative ¥8.89bn was dominated by ¥8.84bn of purchases of property, plant and equipment and intangible assets. Financing cash flow of ¥5.34bn, including a ¥7.38bn increase in short-term loans, partly funded the operating and investment cash outflows. Cash and deposits fell 44.7% year on year to ¥7.13bn, while short-term loans increased 26.2% to ¥36.26bn. Management maintained its full-year forecast, but first-half operating income has already reached 92.9% of the ¥6.00bn full-year target and ordinary income has exceeded the ¥4.90bn forecast by 6.1%. The FY2026 outlook therefore hinges less on first-half demand and more on whether seasonal working-capital absorption reverses, cash flow normalizes, and the company can manage a sharply weaker implied second half without further short-term borrowing.

Profitability Analysis

The reported annualized DuPont ROE is 7.4%, comprising a 3.0% net profit margin, 0.910x asset turnover and 2.68x financial leverage. Financial leverage is the largest positive contributor to the 7.4% annualized ROE, rather than a high underlying profit margin or asset productivity. The 3.0% net margin remains at the low end of the stated profitability benchmarks and declined year on year despite operating-income growth. Asset turnover of 0.910x is moderate, but the substantial balance-sheet commitment to inventories, receivables and PPE limits capital efficiency. The operating-margin improvement to 5.5% from 4.3% was the most favorable change in the earnings structure. Gross margin rose to 31.5% from approximately 29.1%, suggesting improved pricing, product mix, procurement conditions, production efficiency, or a combination of these factors. SG&A expenses increased 6.1% to ¥26.54bn, much faster than 1.0% revenue growth. As a result, SG&A deleveraged from roughly 24.8% to 26.0% of sales, constraining the conversion of gross-profit gains into operating profit. EBITDA rose to ¥8.26bn and the EBITDA margin reached 8.1%, providing a clearer measure of pre-depreciation operating earnings for this capital-intensive manufacturer. Interest coverage of 7.16x on an EBIT basis and 10.60x on an EBITDA basis remains serviceable, but is supported by operating earnings that must fund a relatively high debt base. The five-factor analysis shows a tax burden of 0.637 and an interest burden of 0.874. The interest burden below 0.90 indicates that financing costs have a visible effect on the passage from EBIT to pre-tax income. The effective tax rate was 29.1%, broadly explaining the difference between ¥4.87bn of profit before tax and ¥3.45bn of consolidated net income. The gap between ordinary income of ¥5.20bn and profit attributable to owners of ¥3.11bn also reflects extraordinary losses and the allocation of ¥0.35bn of profit to non-controlling interests. Profitability improvement appears operationally meaningful at the gross-profit level, but sustainable ROE improvement requires tighter SG&A discipline, better working-capital productivity and lower reliance on leverage.

Growth Assessment

First-half revenue growth of 1.0% was modest, but the 28.0% increase in operating income demonstrates substantial margin-led earnings growth. Gross profit increased 9.5% to ¥32.12bn, far exceeding the increase in sales. This indicates that the improvement was driven primarily by gross-margin expansion rather than volume-led growth. The company operates in a single agricultural-related business segment, making consolidated performance directly representative of the core business. The agricultural machinery market is exposed to farm income, replacement demand, agricultural policy, weather conditions and dealer inventory behavior, so a low-growth revenue outcome can still be accompanied by volatile quarterly margins and working capital. Finished goods were ¥469.97bn? No, ¥46.997bn, and represent a significant commitment of capital within the operating cycle. The large finished-goods balance heightens the importance of sales execution and dealer-channel absorption during the remainder of the year. The reported annualized inventory-days alerts of 151 days and 123 days, both above their respective warning thresholds, reinforce the risk that inventory intensity is elevated even allowing for seasonal agricultural-equipment demand patterns. Receivable days of 64, above the 60-day warning threshold, indicate that sales conversion into cash is slower than desired. The annualized cash conversion cycle of 179 days is substantially above the 120-day warning threshold, constraining self-funded growth. Full-year revenue guidance is ¥180.00bn, implying first-half progress of 56.6% versus a standard 50% midpoint. Full-year operating-income guidance is ¥6.00bn, implying 92.9% first-half progress, 42.9 percentage points above the standard 50% pace. Full-year ordinary-income guidance of ¥4.90bn has been exceeded by first-half ordinary income, with progress of 106.1%. Full-year profit attributable to owners guidance of ¥3.00bn has also been exceeded, with first-half progress of 103.5%. The unchanged forecast therefore embeds a much weaker second half, which may reflect seasonal cost, sales-mix or agricultural demand assumptions, but it also raises the execution threshold for avoiding profit volatility. Revenue sustainability should be assessed through order intake, dealer inventories, receivable collection and the pace of finished-goods reduction rather than through first-half sales growth alone.

Financial Health

Liquidity is tight rather than distressed on the reported balance sheet, with a current ratio of 104.3% and positive working capital of ¥4.32bn. The current ratio is above 1.0x, so current assets nominally cover current liabilities. However, the margin of coverage is narrow, and the quick ratio of 58.0% shows that liquidity depends heavily on inventory realization and receivable collection. Current liabilities of ¥101.58bn are high relative to current assets of ¥105.90bn. Interest-bearing debt was ¥55.10bn, equivalent to a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.68x. This is below the explicit 2.0x high-risk threshold but remains elevated for a business with negative first-half operating cash flow. Debt-to-capital was 39.7%, just within the 40% investment-grade benchmark, while Debt/EBITDA was a high 6.67x. The high-leverage alert is material: a 6.7x Debt/EBITDA ratio indicates that deleveraging capacity depends on maintaining EBITDA and restoring cash conversion. Short-term loans were ¥36.26bn and accounted for 65.8% of interest-bearing debt. The refinancing-risk alert is therefore well founded, as the capital structure has a meaningful maturity mismatch between short-dated funding and working capital that includes inventories and receivables. Cash and deposits were ¥7.13bn, equal to only 0.20x short-term debt. The liquidity-stress alert is material because cash alone provides limited coverage of near-term borrowings, increasing reliance on bank lines, refinancing access and operating cash recovery. Cash declined ¥5.76bn year on year, while accounts receivable increased ¥9.06bn and short-term loans increased ¥7.52bn. Investment securities rose ¥4.03bn year on year to ¥17.23bn, or 7.7% of total assets, supporting equity value but not serving as immediate operating liquidity without potential market-value and disposal considerations. Total equity increased to ¥83.54bn from ¥78.43bn, helped by ¥6.32bn of comprehensive income; owners' equity was ¥78.57bn. Property, plant and equipment was ¥89.22bn, or 39.8% of total assets, confirming a capital-intensive operating model. Net defined benefit liabilities were ¥5.33bn, and asset retirement obligations were ¥1.01bn, the latter representing a limited 0.7% of total liabilities. Overall financial health is constrained chiefly by high debt relative to EBITDA, a short-term debt-heavy funding structure, and low cash relative to short-term borrowings.

Notable B/S Changes

Cash and deposits: -¥5.76bn (-44.7%) to ¥7.13bn - reduced liquidity buffer following negative operating and investing cash flows. Accounts receivable: +¥9.06bn (+34.2%) to ¥35.55bn - principal driver of the ¥8.97bn operating cash outflow; monitor collection quality and dealer/customer demand. Investment securities: +¥4.03bn (+30.5%) to ¥17.23bn - increased exposure to market-value movements and represents capital not directly available for operating liquidity without disposal. Short-term loans: +¥7.52bn (+26.2%) to ¥36.26bn - indicates increased reliance on short-term funding for working capital and investment needs. Property, plant and equipment: +¥5.57bn (+6.7%) to ¥89.22bn - consistent with the ¥8.84bn first-half investment outflow and reinforces the group's capital-intensive structure. Total equity: +¥5.71bn (+6.5%) to ¥83.54bn - supported by comprehensive income of ¥6.32bn, including valuation and foreign-currency translation movements.

Cash Flow Quality

Cash-flow quality was weak in FY2026 Q2. Operating cash flow was negative ¥2.65bn, compared with ¥3.11bn of profit attributable to owners of the parent. The OCF/net-income ratio was negative 0.85x, well below the 0.8x quality-warning threshold. This earnings-quality alert indicates that reported profit did not convert into cash during the first half. Cash conversion, measured as OCF/EBITDA, was negative 0.32x, materially below the 0.7x warning threshold. The principal operating cash-flow drag was a ¥8.97bn increase in trade receivables. A further ¥0.34bn inventory increase also consumed cash. These outflows were only partly offset by a ¥0.97bn increase in trade payables and a ¥1.04bn increase in other payables. The combination of rising receivables and negative OCF is a working-capital risk rather than evidence of immediate accounting weakness; nevertheless, it requires confirmation through second-half collections. The accruals ratio of 2.6% remains below the 5% benchmark and is relatively favorable, suggesting that the cash-flow shortfall is concentrated in working-capital timing rather than broad-based accrual inflation. Annualized receivable days of 64 exceed the 60-day alert threshold. Annualized inventory-days alerts of 151 days and 123 days both indicate slow inventory conversion relative to manufacturing benchmarks. The annualized cash conversion cycle of 179 days exceeds the 120-day warning threshold, making the group structurally dependent on external funding during parts of its operating cycle. Investing cash flow was negative ¥8.89bn, almost entirely reflecting ¥8.84bn of purchases of PPE and intangible assets. Free cash flow was therefore negative ¥11.54bn. Financing cash flow was positive ¥5.34bn, including a ¥7.38bn increase in short-term loans, indicating that debt financing partly covered the combined operating and investment outflows. Cash declined by ¥5.95bn during the period to ¥6.89bn of cash and cash equivalents at period end. Sustainable improvement requires receivable collection, finished-goods reduction, and lower dependence on short-term borrowing to finance capital expenditure and seasonal working capital.

Dividend Sustainability

The full-year dividend forecast is ¥45 per share, unchanged from the disclosed forecast. Against forecast FY2026 EPS of ¥132.59, the implied dividend payout ratio is approximately 33.9%. This dividend-only payout ratio is below the 60% sustainability benchmark. There were no share repurchases during the period, so the dividend payout ratio also represents the relevant shareholder-distribution measure rather than a total return ratio. The forecast dividend would require roughly ¥1.02bn of cash based on 22.63 million average shares, which is modest relative to first-half EBITDA of ¥8.26bn. However, first-half free cash flow was negative ¥11.54bn, meaning current-period internal cash generation did not cover capital expenditure and any shareholder distributions. Cash dividends paid during the first half were ¥0.91bn. The key constraint on dividend flexibility is not the stated earnings payout ratio but working-capital absorption, negative operating cash flow, and funding reliance on short-term debt. Dividend sustainability is therefore supported by forecast earnings coverage but remains dependent on second-half cash collection and refinancing discipline.

Risk Assessment

Business risks include Agricultural machinery demand is sensitive to farm economics, weather conditions, replacement cycles, agricultural-policy support and dealer inventory levels; these factors can cause substantial volatility in volume and product mix., Finished goods of ¥47.00bn and annualized inventory-days alerts of 151 days and 123 days create inventory-aging, discounting and production-adjustment risk if demand or dealer absorption weakens., Receivable days of 64 and the ¥8.97bn first-half increase in trade receivables raise collection and channel-demand risk; a failure to collect in the second half would prolong negative operating cash flow., SG&A grew 6.1% while revenue grew only 1.0%, so further cost inflation or insufficient sales growth could reverse part of the operating-margin recovery., The ¥1.20bn foreign-exchange gain contributed to non-operating income; future currency movements can affect reported earnings, particularly where procurement and overseas sales are not naturally matched., The ¥0.21bn impairment loss demonstrates exposure to asset-value reassessment, albeit at a limited scale relative to first-half profit..

Financial risks include Debt/EBITDA of 6.67x is above the 4.0x high-leverage threshold. This reduces financial flexibility and increases sensitivity to an EBITDA setback., Short-term loans of ¥36.26bn represent 65.8% of interest-bearing debt, creating a material refinancing requirement and exposure to lender terms and interest-rate conditions., Cash/short-term debt of 0.20x is below the 0.5x warning threshold. Available cash provides limited standalone coverage of short-term borrowings., The quick ratio of 58.0% indicates that near-term obligations cannot be covered by cash and receivables alone without reliance on inventory monetization or refinancing., Negative operating cash flow of ¥2.65bn, negative free cash flow of ¥11.54bn and a ¥5.95bn cash decline increase dependence on external funding., Interest expense of ¥0.78bn and an interest burden of 0.874 show that funding costs already reduce earnings, although EBIT and EBITDA interest coverage remain above 5x..

Key concerns include Highest priority: conversion of receivables and inventories into cash. The negative OCF/net-income ratio of negative 0.85x and negative OCF/EBITDA of negative 0.32x are the clearest near-term quality concerns., Highest priority: refinancing and liquidity management. The combination of 65.8% short-term debt, 0.20x cash/short-term-debt coverage and a narrow 104.3% current ratio leaves limited room for prolonged working-capital stress., High priority: full-year forecast credibility. First-half operating income is already 92.9% of full-year guidance and ordinary income is 106.1%, implying a sharply weaker second half under unchanged guidance., Moderate priority: maintenance of gross-margin gains. Gross-margin expansion was strong, but SG&A deleverage limited the full benefit at the operating line., Moderate priority: capital-expenditure cash burden. PPE and intangible purchases of ¥8.84bn materially exceeded the cash generated by operations during the period..

Investment Implications

Key takeaways include First-half operating profitability improved materially: operating income rose 28.0% and operating margin expanded 115 basis points to 5.5%., The earnings improvement was margin-led rather than revenue-led, as sales increased only 1.0% while gross profit increased 9.5%., Profit attributable to owners declined 5.1% because operating gains did not fully flow through to shareholders after financing costs, taxes, extraordinary losses and non-controlling interests., Annualized ROE of 7.4% is below the 8% concern threshold and is supported significantly by 2.68x financial leverage., Cash conversion is the central issue: operating cash flow was negative ¥2.65bn and free cash flow was negative ¥11.54bn., The balance sheet is exposed to a short-term funding cycle, with ¥36.26bn of short-term loans and only ¥7.13bn of cash and deposits., Unchanged full-year guidance embeds a pronounced second-half slowdown, despite first-half operating and ordinary-income progress well above a normal 50% midpoint..

Metrics to watch include Trade receivables and annualized DSO, particularly reversal of the ¥8.97bn first-half receivable cash outflow and DSO from 64 days., Finished-goods balance and annualized inventory days, given alerts at 151 days and 123 days., Operating cash flow, OCF/net-income conversion and OCF/EBITDA cash conversion., Short-term loans, cash/short-term-debt coverage and debt/EBITDA., Second-half gross margin and SG&A-to-sales ratio, which will determine whether first-half margin recovery is retained., Progress against the unchanged ¥180.00bn revenue, ¥6.00bn operating-income and ¥3.00bn attributable-profit full-year forecasts., Capital-expenditure pace relative to operating cash flow and funding capacity..

Regarding relative positioning, Iseki exhibits improving operating profitability and a moderate 8.1% EBITDA margin for a capital-intensive agricultural-machinery manufacturer, but its financial profile is weaker than a conservatively financed industrial peer because Debt/EBITDA is 6.67x, cash conversion is negative, liquidity is inventory-dependent, and short-term debt represents the majority of borrowings.