Back to Articles
45652026 Q2 / First HalfPrimeIFRS

Nxera Pharma Co.,Ltd. FY2026 Q2 Earnings Report

Nxera Pharma Co.,Ltd. FY2026 Q2 earnings report and financial analysis

Nxera Pharma Co.,Ltd.

Pharmaceutical


Quick View

MetricCurrent PeriodSame Period Previous YearYoY
Revenue¥1.891B¥1.509B+25.3%
Operating Income¥0.188B−¥0.276B+168.2%
Profit Before Tax¥0.140B−¥0.372B+137.6%
Net Income¥0.159B−¥0.314B+150.7%
ROE2.5%−5.1%-

Executive Summary

In the current quarter, the Company achieved both revenue growth and a return to operating profitability, clearly recovering from the structural earnings weakness of the previous year. Revenue was ¥1.891B (+25.3% YoY), Operating Income was ¥0.188B (a 168.2% improvement from ¥-0.276B in the previous year), and Net Income was ¥0.159B (a 150.7% improvement from ¥-0.314B in the previous year). By maintaining a high gross margin (82.6%) while reducing SG&A expenses from the previous year, operating leverage took effect, with revenue growth and margin improvement progressing simultaneously. There was no revision to the earnings forecast, and the Company remained without a dividend, as in the previous year.

Factors Affecting Earnings

【Revenue】Revenue secured double-digit growth at ¥1.891B (+25.3% YoY). Although segment information was not disclosed, improved product mix at this R&D-oriented company contributed to maintaining the high gross margin (82.6%).

【Profit and Loss】Operating Income was ¥0.188B, turning profitable from ¥-0.276B in the previous year. SG&A expenses declined to ¥0.695B from ¥0.757B in the previous year, resulting in operating leverage as the effect of higher revenue was converted almost directly into profit. Meanwhile, financial expenses of ¥0.077B substantially exceeded financial income of ¥0.014B, leaving Profit Before Tax at ¥0.140B. Other expenses of ¥0.169B included impairment losses as a temporary factor, slightly reducing EBIT. Net Income of ¥0.159B exceeded Profit Before Tax of ¥0.140B, as income taxes and other items made a substantial positive contribution, including the impact of deferred taxes. The results reflected both revenue growth and earnings growth, suggesting structural improvement in profitability.

Key Financial Indicators

【Profitability】The Operating Margin improved significantly to 9.9% from -18.3% in the previous year, while the Net Profit Margin improved to 8.4% from -20.8%. The gross margin remained high at 82.6%. 【Cash Flow Quality】Operating Cash Flow (OCF) was ¥0.398B, approximately 2.5 times Net Income of ¥0.159B, demonstrating strong cash backing for earnings. 【Investment Efficiency】The total asset turnover ratio was low at 0.143, with intangible assets (40.1% of total assets) and goodwill (19.1%) weighing on asset efficiency. ROE was 2.5%, improving from negative territory in the previous year but remaining low in terms of capital efficiency. 【Financial Soundness】The Equity Ratio improved to 49.0% from 45.3% in the previous year, indicating a modest strengthening of the financial position. However, given the level of Profit Before Tax at ¥0.140B against financial expenses of ¥0.077B, the structure in which interest burdens weigh on earnings remains in place.

Cash Flow Analysis

Operating Cash Flow (OCF) increased substantially to ¥0.398B from ¥0.004B in the previous year, demonstrating cash-generation capability exceeding Net Income of ¥0.159B. In terms of working capital, a decrease in inventories (+¥0.122B) and a reduction in trade receivables (approximately +¥0.080B based on changes in receivables) contributed to cash generation, while a substantial decrease in trade payables (▲¥0.410B) was a source of cash outflow. Investing Cash Flow was ▲¥0.435B, primarily due to upfront investment centered on the acquisition of intangible assets. Financing Cash Flow was ▲¥0.258B, with share repurchases of ¥0.125B and repayments of long-term borrowings of ¥0.290B representing the main outflows. As a result, Free Cash Flow was slightly negative at ▲¥0.037B; however, given the strength of OCF, growth investments remain at a level that can largely be absorbed through internal funds.

Earnings Quality

Other expenses of ¥0.169B in the current period included impairment losses, which reduced EBIT as a temporary factor. Below operating income, financial expenses of ¥0.077B substantially exceeded financial income of ¥0.014B, continuing to compress Profit Before Tax. Meanwhile, Net Income of ¥0.159B exceeded Profit Before Tax of ¥0.140B, and the substantial positive contribution from income taxes and other items may include temporary factors such as the impact of deferred tax assets, which warrants attention. OCF reaching approximately 2.5 times Net Income indicates strong cash backing for earnings and that earnings quality is generally favorable. Non-operating income is small relative to revenue, with core operations constituting the primary source of earnings.

Shareholder Returns

The Company paid no dividend during the current period, and the dividend forecast in the earnings outlook remains ¥0, with no revision. Meanwhile, the Company conducted share repurchases of ¥0.125B, making share repurchases the primary form of shareholder returns. With accumulated losses (retained earnings of ▲¥1.433B) remaining, the capital allocation policy appears to prioritize retained earnings and growth investments over dividends.

Risk Factors

  1. Intangible Asset and Goodwill Concentration Risk: Intangible assets account for 40.1% of total assets, while goodwill accounts for 19.1%, bringing the combined total to 59.2%. If impairment losses arise due to revisions to future business plans or other factors, the impact on equity could be significant.

  2. Interest Burden Risk: Financial expenses of ¥0.077B substantially exceed financial income of ¥0.014B, imposing a significant burden relative to Profit Before Tax of ¥0.140B. EBIT of ¥0.188B divided by financial expenses results in a ratio of only approximately 2.4 times, requiring attention to resilience in the event of rising interest rates.

  3. Working Capital Volatility Risk: Trade payables declined substantially from ¥0.749B in the previous year to ¥0.341B, becoming a short-term cash outflow factor. Whether working capital normalizes going forward will affect the stability of cash efficiency.

Industry Benchmark (For Reference; Compiled by the Company)

Industry Benchmark (pharma)

Profitability and Returns

MetricCompanyMedian (IQR)Delta
Operating Margin9.9%
Net Profit Margin8.4%

As median data has not been prepared, profitability levels are presented using the Company’s figures only.

Growth and Capital Efficiency

MetricCompanyMedian (IQR)Delta
Revenue Growth Rate (YoY)25.3%

As median data has not been prepared, only the Company’s high-growth trend can be confirmed.

※Source: Compiled by the Company

Key Takeaways from the Earnings Results

  1. The Operating Margin recovered to 9.9% from a substantial loss in the previous year, clearly demonstrating the effect of operating leverage accompanying revenue growth. The high gross margin of 82.6% provides the foundation for the Company’s earnings profile.

  2. OCF reached ¥0.398B, approximately 2.5 times Net Income, demonstrating strong cash backing for earnings. However, investment centered on the acquisition of intangible assets preceded earnings, resulting in slightly negative Free Cash Flow.

  3. Intangible assets and goodwill account for approximately 60% of total assets, while financial expenses continue to weigh on earnings. Going forward, trends in asset efficiency and interest burdens will be key areas to monitor in assessing the sustainability of structural profitability.


This report is an earnings analysis document automatically generated by AI through analysis of XBRL earnings release data. It does not recommend investment in any specific security. Industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the Company based on publicly available earnings data. Investment decisions should be made at your own responsibility, after consulting with professionals as necessary.

---End of Report---


AI Financial Analysis

Executive Summary

FY2026 Q2 was a clear earnings-recovery quarter, with Nexera Pharma returning to operating and net profitability on robust revenue growth and lower R&D spending. Revenue rose 25.3% year on year to ¥18.91bn. Gross profit increased 34.5% to ¥15.63bn, outpacing sales growth. The gross margin expanded by approximately 560bp to 82.6% from 77.0% in the prior-year period. Operating income improved to ¥1.88bn from a ¥2.76bn operating loss. Accordingly, the operating margin improved by approximately 2,820bp to 9.9% from negative 18.3%. Net income was ¥1.59bn, compared with a ¥3.14bn loss a year earlier, and basic EPS was ¥17.54. The earnings recovery was supported by R&D expense declining 19.7% year on year to ¥6.00bn while revenue expanded, creating substantial operating leverage. R&D intensity nevertheless remained high at 31.7% of revenue, consistent with a discovery- and development-oriented pharmaceutical business. Profit before tax was ¥1.40bn, but the company reported a ¥0.19bn tax benefit, lifting net income above pre-tax income and producing a negative effective tax rate of 13.7%. Operating cash flow was strong at ¥3.98bn, equal to 2.50x net income, indicating that the reported profit was cash-backed during the period. Cash generation was achieved despite a ¥4.10bn reduction in payables, which was a material cash outflow. Investment cash outflow was ¥4.35bn, led by ¥5.06bn of intangible-asset purchases, and reported free cash flow was negative ¥0.37bn. The balance sheet remains equity-funded to a meaningful extent, with a 49.0% equity ratio, but is highly dependent on goodwill and intangible assets, which together accounted for 59.2% of total assets. Financial costs of ¥0.77bn absorbed 26% of EBIT, limiting the conversion of operating earnings into pre-tax profit. The near-term outlook depends on sustaining revenue momentum, translating IP investment into commercial returns, maintaining cash conversion, and preventing further impairment or value erosion in acquired and pipeline-related intangible assets.

Profitability Analysis

The reported annualized DuPont ROE is 4.9%, decomposed into an 8.4% net profit margin, 0.286x asset turnover, and 2.04x financial leverage. The principal constraint on shareholder returns is low asset turnover, reflecting the large asset base relative to the current revenue run-rate, particularly the ¥53.04bn intangible-asset balance and ¥25.27bn goodwill. Financial leverage supports ROE but does not appear excessive on the reported 1.04x debt-to-equity ratio; however, leverage also contributes to a weak 0.744 interest burden. The largest year-on-year change was the swing in operating profitability: operating margin improved to 9.9% from negative 18.3%. Gross-margin expansion was also meaningful, at approximately 560bp, with gross profit growth of 34.5% exceeding revenue growth of 25.3%. R&D expense fell to ¥6.00bn from ¥7.47bn, while revenue rose, indicating that lower R&D spending was a major driver of operating leverage. SG&A was ¥6.95bn, and the combination of commercial scaling and disciplined development expenditure supported the turnaround. The 9.9% EBIT margin is within the 8-15% “good” benchmark range, but remains below the 15% level generally associated with a mature, highly profitable pharmaceutical franchise. The 8.4% net margin is also positive and in the 5-10% benchmark range, although finance costs and other expenses materially reduced conversion from EBIT. Finance costs of ¥0.77bn exceeded finance income of ¥0.14bn, while other expenses were ¥1.69bn and included ¥1.21bn of impairment losses. The impairment charge is a material earnings-quality consideration because it indicates that some asset values were reassessed during the period. The tax burden of 1.137 was favorable because of the tax benefit, and should not be assumed to recur at the same level. Sustainable improvement in ROE will require a higher recurring operating margin, stronger monetization of the intangible-asset base, and lower financing drag rather than additional financial leverage.

Growth Assessment

Revenue growth of 25.3% to ¥18.91bn demonstrates strong commercial and/or licensing momentum in the first half. Gross profit rose faster than revenue, confirming that growth was accompanied by favorable gross-margin expansion rather than being purchased through lower pricing or unfavorable product mix. The shift from an operating loss to ¥1.88bn of operating profit is especially significant because it reflects a large fixed-cost absorption effect. R&D expense declined by ¥1.47bn year on year, or 19.7%, and this expenditure change contributed materially to profit growth. At 31.7% of revenue, R&D intensity remains well above the 15-20% innovator-pharma benchmark, leaving the company exposed to the inherently uncertain timing and outcome of development investment. The ¥5.06bn of intangible-asset purchases during the period indicates continued commitment to pipeline, product-rights, or technology investment. This investment may support future growth, but it also raises the execution hurdle because the existing intangible asset base is already substantial. Other income of ¥0.89bn provided support, while impairment losses of ¥1.21bn demonstrate that not all IP-related investments necessarily retain their original carrying value. Equity-method investment income of ¥0.15bn was positive but was not the principal driver of earnings. Management has not revised the full-year dividend plan, which remains zero, and has not disclosed a financial earnings forecast beyond that dividend information. Revenue sustainability should therefore be assessed through continued top-line growth, recurring gross-margin retention, R&D productivity, and the ability of acquired or developed intangible assets to generate cash returns.

Financial Health

Liquidity appears sound on the available balance-sheet measures. Current assets were ¥40.18bn, while current liabilities implied by total less non-current liabilities were ¥15.10bn, resulting in a calculated current ratio of approximately 2.66x. This is comfortably above the 1.0x warning threshold and indicates no apparent near-term maturity mismatch. Cash and cash equivalents were ¥17.75bn, providing a meaningful liquidity reserve. Lease liabilities due within one year were ¥0.89bn, which are well covered by cash and current assets. The reported debt-to-equity ratio was 1.04x, below the 2.0x aggressive-leverage warning level. Reported debt-to-capital was 21.9%, also below the 40% investment-grade benchmark. Nevertheless, interest-bearing obligations include ¥18.22bn of long-term loans and ¥26.23bn of non-current bonds, while lease liabilities total ¥3.38bn. Finance costs of ¥0.77bn resulted in EBIT-to-finance-cost coverage of approximately 2.4x, below the 3.0x concern benchmark. This weak coverage is the key financial-risk factor despite adequate headline liquidity. Equity increased to ¥64.80bn from ¥61.00bn, and the equity ratio improved to 49.0% from 45.3%. Retained earnings remained negative at ¥14.33bn, though the deficit narrowed from ¥17.55bn as profitability recovered. Goodwill represented 39.0% of equity, an elevated but not warning-level exposure, while intangible assets represented 40.1% of total assets, exceeding the 30% concentration warning threshold. The asset base is therefore sensitive to commercial underperformance, clinical setbacks, or changes in assumptions used to value acquired IP and goodwill.

Notable B/S Changes

Accounts payable: -¥4.08bn (-54.5%) to ¥3.41bn - a major reduction in supplier or partner obligations; this consumed cash in operating activities and reduced a source of working-capital financing. Treasury stock: -¥1.25bn from -¥0.003bn - reflects ¥1.25bn of share repurchases during the period, reducing cash and equity while no dividend was paid. Retained earnings: improved by ¥3.21bn to negative ¥14.33bn - the first-half return to profitability reduced the accumulated deficit, although retained earnings remain negative.

Cash Flow Quality

Cash-flow quality was favorable in FY2026 Q2, with operating cash flow of ¥3.98bn exceeding net income of ¥1.59bn by 2.50x. The negative 1.8% accruals ratio also supports the conclusion that earnings were cash-backed rather than dependent on aggressive accrual recognition. Operating cash flow included a ¥4.35bn subtotal before interest and tax-related items. Working-capital movements were mixed. A ¥4.10bn reduction in accounts payable was a material use of cash and indicates settlement of supplier or partner obligations rather than a temporary extension of payment terms. This payable outflow was more than offset by a ¥1.22bn inventory-related cash inflow, a ¥0.80bn receivables-related cash inflow, and ¥1.28bn of other working-capital inflows. Receivables were ¥6.98bn, and the reported annualized DSO of 67 days exceeds the 60-day alert threshold, requiring monitoring of collection quality as sales scale. Inventories were ¥10.07bn, with reported annualized DIO of 560 days, materially above both pharmaceutical-industry and general corporate reference levels. The reported annualized cash conversion cycle of 438 days is consequently very long and reflects significant capital tied up in inventory relative to the cost-of-sales base. Such inventory intensity may be characteristic of specialized pharmaceutical supply chains, but it elevates obsolescence, write-down, and demand-forecasting risk. Investing cash flow was negative ¥4.35bn, primarily due to ¥5.06bn of intangible-asset purchases, partly offset by net proceeds from investment securities transactions. Reported free cash flow was negative ¥0.37bn, so operating cash generation did not fully fund the period's total investment demands. Financing cash flow was negative ¥2.58bn, including ¥1.25bn of treasury-share purchases and ¥2.90bn of long-term debt repayments, partly offset by ¥0.78bn of short-term borrowing increases. Cash declined by ¥2.62bn during the period to ¥17.75bn. Cash conversion is strong at the earnings level, but sustained negative free cash flow would constrain balance-sheet flexibility if IP acquisitions and development spending remain elevated.

Dividend Sustainability

The Q2 dividend was ¥0 per share and the full-year indicated dividend is also ¥0 per share. The dividend payout ratio is therefore 0%, and there is no cash-dividend funding requirement. The company instead used ¥1.25bn for treasury-share purchases during the period. Relative to net income of ¥1.59bn, the buyback represented a total return ratio of approximately 78.6%, since no dividend was paid. This is below the 80% sustainability reference point but leaves limited margin given reported negative free cash flow of ¥0.37bn. Operating cash flow of ¥3.98bn covered the buyback, but it did not cover the broader investment cash requirements, especially intangible-asset purchases. The capital-allocation priority appears to be maintaining pipeline and IP investment while selectively returning capital through repurchases. Given the negative retained-earnings balance and interest coverage of around 2.4x, a conservative dividend policy is financially consistent. Future shareholder distributions should be evaluated against recurring free cash flow, debt-service capacity, and evidence that intangible investments are earning adequate returns.

Risk Assessment

Business risks include Pharmaceutical R&D and pipeline risk is elevated: R&D expense was ¥6.00bn, or 31.7% of revenue, and commercialization outcomes may be uncertain despite the current earnings recovery., IP valuation and impairment risk is material because intangible assets were ¥53.04bn, or 40.1% of total assets, and goodwill was ¥25.27bn. The ¥1.21bn impairment loss recorded during the period demonstrates that carrying values are exposed to changes in development, commercial, or valuation assumptions., Inventory-management risk is high. Reported annualized DIO of 560 days and a 438-day cash conversion cycle indicate a large inventory commitment, creating potential risks of obsolescence, expiry, production planning errors, and future write-downs., Revenue-growth durability is a key issue because the profit turnaround was supported both by 25.3% revenue growth and a 19.7% reduction in R&D expense. Continued earnings expansion will require revenue growth and commercialization success to compensate if development costs rise again., Receivables-collection risk warrants attention, as reported annualized DSO of 67 days exceeds the 60-day threshold..

Financial risks include High interest burden is a material concern: the 0.744 interest burden means approximately 26% of EBIT was consumed by net financing costs. EBIT-to-finance-cost coverage was approximately 2.4x, below the 3.0x concern threshold., Reported debt-to-equity of 1.04x and debt-to-capital of 21.9% are not aggressive, but the debt load becomes more consequential because operating profitability is only recently restored and interest coverage remains modest., Reported free cash flow was negative ¥0.37bn as intangible-asset purchases of ¥5.06bn exceeded operating cash generation after broader investment activity. Continued investment at this pace could reduce cash reserves or increase funding needs., The ¥1.25bn buyback reduced cash during a period of negative reported free cash flow, raising the importance of disciplined capital allocation..

Key concerns include Highest priority is the combination of high intangible concentration and recorded impairment: it has both high potential impact and direct relevance to future earnings and equity value., Second priority is the long inventory cycle. The 560-day reported annualized DIO and 438-day cash conversion cycle can absorb cash and may amplify downside if demand assumptions change., Third priority is financing coverage. The company has adequate liquidity, but interest coverage of approximately 2.4x provides limited tolerance for an earnings setback or higher funding costs., The reported annualized ROIC of 4.5% is below the 5% warning benchmark, indicating that the large capital base has not yet achieved an adequate return. Improving ROIC is central to validating the company's IP-intensive strategy..

Investment Implications

Key takeaways include Revenue grew 25.3% and operating income recovered to ¥1.88bn from a ¥2.76bn loss, confirming a substantial first-half earnings turnaround., Gross margin expanded to 82.6% and operating margin reached 9.9%, but the latter remains dependent in part on lower R&D expense., Operating cash flow was strong at ¥3.98bn and exceeded net income by 2.50x, supporting earnings quality., The balance sheet has adequate near-term liquidity, with a calculated current ratio of approximately 2.66x and a 49.0% equity ratio., High intangible and goodwill exposure, low 4.5% reported annualized ROIC, a ¥1.21bn impairment charge, and modest interest coverage remain the principal constraints on the quality of the recovery..

Metrics to watch include Revenue growth and gross-margin retention, R&D expense, R&D intensity, and the relationship between R&D changes and operating-profit growth, Operating margin and annualized ROIC, Impairment charges, goodwill of ¥25.27bn, and intangible assets of ¥53.04bn, EBIT-to-finance-cost coverage and changes in debt obligations, Reported annualized DSO of 67 days, DIO of 560 days, and the 438-day cash conversion cycle, Operating cash flow, reported free cash flow, intangible-asset purchases, and cash balances.

Regarding relative positioning, Nexera Pharma exhibits the profile of an IP- and R&D-intensive pharmaceutical company rather than a mature cash-distribution franchise. Its 82.6% gross margin is consistent with attractive pharmaceutical economics, while 31.7% R&D intensity is substantially above the industry reference range and reflects a high-investment model. Compared with a mature pharmaceutical peer, return metrics remain weak, with reported annualized ROE of 4.9% and ROIC of 4.5%, and asset concentration is materially higher because goodwill and intangible assets represent 59.2% of total assets. The company’s immediate relative strength is the improvement in revenue, margins, and operating cash generation; its relative weakness is capital efficiency and sensitivity to IP valuation and financing costs.