Quick View
| Metric | Current Period | Same Period of Previous Year | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ¥300.3B | ¥292.2B | +2.8% |
| Operating Income | ¥15.1B | ¥14.4B | +4.7% |
| Ordinary Income | ¥15.2B | ¥14.4B | +5.2% |
| Net Income | ¥10.2B | ¥9.7B | +5.9% |
| ROE | 10.4% | 10.4% | - |
Executive Summary
FY2026 Q2 was a quarter of higher revenue and higher profit, with a slight improvement in profitability. Revenue was ¥300.3B (+2.8% YoY), Operating Income was ¥15.1B (+4.7%), Ordinary Income was ¥15.2B (+5.2%), and Net Income was ¥10.2B (+5.9%), with each profit level growing at a pace exceeding revenue growth. Gross margin improvement absorbed the increase in the SG&A ratio, resulting in a structure in which profit growth exceeded revenue growth.
Factors Affecting Results
【Revenue】Revenue was ¥300.3B (+2.8% YoY). The Company operates as a single segment, the Property Management Business, and does not disclose a segment breakdown. However, advances received increased to ¥26.4B (+7.8%), suggesting that expansion of the entrusted business and contract pipeline supported the top line.
【Profit and Loss】Operating Income was ¥15.1B (+4.7%), Ordinary Income was ¥15.2B (+5.2%), and Net Income was ¥10.2B (+5.9%), with all three growing faster than revenue. Gross margin improved by +0.7pt YoY to 14.6%, while the SG&A ratio increased by +0.6pt to 9.5%. However, the effect of the gross margin improvement exceeded the increase in SG&A, and the Operating Income margin improved to 5.0% (+0.1pt YoY). Non-operating income and expenses were minimal, consisting of interest income of ¥0.1B and interest expense of ¥0.0B, while extraordinary gains and losses were also nearly zero. Accordingly, the difference between Ordinary Income and Net Income was almost entirely attributable to income taxes and other taxes (¥5.0B, effective tax rate of approximately 32.7%). In conclusion, the Company achieved higher revenue and higher profit.
Segment Analysis
The Company operates as a single segment comprising the Property Management Business and related services, and does not disclose performance by segment.
Key Financial Indicators
【Profitability】The Operating Income margin improved slightly to 5.0% (+0.1pt YoY), while the Net Income margin also improved to 3.4% (+0.1pt). The primary factor behind the improvement in margins was the increase in gross margin to 14.6% (+0.7pt), which absorbed the rise in the SG&A ratio to 9.5% (+0.6pt). 【Cash Quality】Operating Cash Flow (OCF) was ¥14.9B, approximately 1.5 times Net Income of ¥10.2B, indicating solid cash-generating capacity underpinning earnings. 【Investment Efficiency】ROE was 10.4%, a level that is broadly consistent even when decomposed into the three components of Net Income margin, total asset turnover, and financial leverage. Capital expenditures were ¥0.1B, small compared with depreciation and amortization of ¥1.1B, indicating the continuation of asset-light operations rather than aggressive asset expansion. 【Financial Soundness】The Equity Ratio was 54.8%, improving from an equivalent 52.9% in the previous year, while cash and deposits accumulated to ¥77.5B, indicating a high level of short-term funding stability.
Cash Flow Analysis
Operating Cash Flow was ¥14.9B, a significant +30.2% YoY increase, demonstrating cash-generating capacity exceeding Net Income of ¥10.2B. In terms of working capital, a decrease in trade receivables (+¥1.3B contribution to cash flow) and an increase in advances received contributed to cash inflows, while a decrease in trade payables (-¥2.4B) absorbed cash. Investing Cash Flow was nearly zero, consisting only of capital expenditures of ¥0.1B, and free cash flow was ample at ¥14.9B, nearly equivalent to OCF. Financing Cash Flow was -¥5.9B due mainly to dividend payments and other items, but remained within the range of ample FCF, and cash and deposits increased from the end of the previous fiscal year. Overall, both the quality and quantity of cash flows remain favorable.
Earnings Quality
Current-period profit was high quality in that it arose from recurring business activities, with extraordinary gains and losses nearly zero (extraordinary income of ¥0.0B and extraordinary losses of ¥0.0B). Non-operating income and expenses were also minimal, consisting of interest income of ¥0.1B and interest expense of ¥0.0B. Ordinary Income of ¥15.2B was therefore almost identical to Operating Income of ¥15.1B, indicating a structure that does not depend on non-business income. OCF exceeding Net Income suggests that accruals (accounting estimation components) are not excessive. Comprehensive Income of ¥10.2B was also almost the same as Net Income of ¥10.2B, with little divergence attributable to other comprehensive income components. Accordingly, current-period earnings can be assessed as highly sustainable and supported by cash generation.
Earnings Forecast and Guidance
Progress toward the full-year forecast was 50.5% for revenue (¥300.3B/¥595.0B), 52.1% for Operating Income (¥15.1B/¥29.0B), and 52.2% for Ordinary Income (¥15.2B/¥29.1B), exceeding the standard interim progress rate of 50%. The full-year forecast calls for revenue growth of +1.7%, Operating Income growth of +10.0%, and Ordinary Income growth of +10.0%, with an acceleration in profit growth planned for the second half. As of the current quarter, no revisions have been made to the earnings or dividend forecasts, and progress can currently be regarded as being in line with the Company’s plan.
Shareholder Returns
The dividend as of the end of Q2 was ¥0. Meanwhile, cash dividends paid during the current period amounted to ¥5.2B, resulting in a cash-based Payout Ratio of approximately 51% relative to Net Income of ¥10.2B. The full-year dividend forecast has also been disclosed as ¥0. However, FCF of ¥14.9B exceeds the dividend payment amount, indicating that the Company retains capacity for cash returns. The Company holds 987 thousand treasury shares, but no new share repurchases during the current quarter have been confirmed.
Risk Factors
-
SG&A growth risk: The SG&A ratio increased to 9.5%, up +0.6pt YoY, growing at a pace exceeding revenue growth of +2.8%. Although gross margin improvement is currently absorbing this increase, continued growth in SG&A could slow the pace of improvement in the Operating Income margin.
-
Risk of renewal or cancellation of entrusted contracts: The business is centered on an entrusted-business model involving advances received of ¥26.4B, and contract renewal and cancellation trends could become factors affecting revenue volatility. Advances received are trending upward, increasing +7.8% YoY, and the pipeline is currently solid.
-
Risk of continued investment restraint: Capital expenditures are at an extremely low level of approximately 0.05x relative to depreciation and amortization. Given the asset-light nature of the business, the short-term impact on cash flow is limited. However, if restraint on IT and human-resource investment continues over the long term, its impact on maintaining medium-term competitiveness will become a monitoring point.
Industry Benchmark (For Reference; Compiled by the Company)
Industry Benchmark (real_estate)
Profitability and Returns
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Income margin | 5.0% | – | – |
| Net Income margin | 3.4% | – | – |
As industry median data is not sufficiently developed, a quantitative assessment of the Company’s relative position cannot be made. However, the Company’s Operating Income margin is showing an improving trend from the previous year.
Growth and Capital Efficiency
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue growth rate (YoY) | 2.8% | – | – |
As industry median data is not sufficiently developed, a quantitative assessment of the Company’s relative position cannot be made. However, the Company has continued to achieve gradual revenue growth.
※Source: Compiled by the Company
Key Points from the Earnings Results
-
In addition to higher revenue and higher profit, the improvement in gross margin (+0.7pt) absorbed the increase in the SG&A ratio (+0.6pt), resulting in an improved Operating Income margin and suggesting a qualitative improvement in the earnings structure.
-
OCF was approximately 1.5 times Net Income, and FCF reached ¥14.9B, indicating strong cash support for earnings. The Equity Ratio was also high at 54.8%, and the soundness of the financial base is enhancing the Company’s resilience to downside risk.
-
Full-year progress rates exceeded 50% for both revenue and profit, indicating steady progress in line with the Company’s plan. The increase in advances received is attracting attention as an indicator of solid forward demand. Meanwhile, the continued restraint in capital expenditures makes the timing of a medium-term resumption of investment an important point to monitor.
Theoretical Share Price (For Reference)
This is a mechanically calculated reference range based solely on publicly disclosed data using a residual income model (Ohlson-type model with an explicit 5-year fade period). It is not a forecast of the market share price or a recommendation of any specific investment action.
| Scenario | Theoretical Share Price |
|---|---|
| bear | ¥796 |
| base | ¥824 |
| bull | ¥848 |
| Calculation Assumption | Value |
|---|---|
| Book value per share (BPS) | ¥586 |
| Adjusted forecast EPS | ¥127.2 |
| Cost of equity r | 9.77% (10-year government bond 2.77% + equity risk premium 6.00% + size premium 1.00%) |
| Residual income persistence coefficient ω / explicit forecast period | 0.62 / 5 years |
| Assumed Payout Ratio | 0.0% |
| Forecast EPS confidence adjustment | ×1.062 (based on the industry’s historical guidance achievement rate) |
| Implied PBR / PER | 1.41x / 6.5x |
Sensitivity: ¥799–¥850 at ±1% for the cost of equity, and ¥817–¥835 at ±0.1 for ω.
Notes:
- Goodwill amortization of ¥1.8 per share has been added back to earnings (due to its non-cash nature and to enhance comparability with IFRS companies).
- Net assets as of the end of the quarter are used (there is a timing difference from the full-year forecast).
- As net assets include non-controlling interests, the theoretical value may be calculated somewhat higher.
(Calculation model: Residual income model / Interest rate reference month: 2026-07 / This value does not forecast or guarantee the future share price)
This report is an earnings analysis document automatically generated by AI based on XBRL earnings summary data. It does not recommend investment in any specific security. Industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the Company based on publicly disclosed earnings data. Investment decisions should be made at your own responsibility, after consulting with a professional as necessary.
---End of Report---
AI Financial Analysis
Executive Summary
JPMC delivered a solid FY2026 Q2 result, with revenue growth translating into faster operating-profit and net-income growth. Revenue increased 2.8% year on year to ¥30.03bn. Operating income rose 4.7% to ¥1.512bn. Ordinary income increased 5.2% to ¥1.520bn. Net income attributable to owners increased 5.9% to ¥1.023bn. The gross margin expanded by approximately 69bp year on year to 14.6%, supported by gross profit growth of 7.9%, ahead of sales growth. The operating margin improved by approximately 9bp to 5.0%. The net margin rose by approximately 10bp to 3.4%. SG&A expenses increased 9.7% year on year to ¥2.860bn, outpacing revenue growth and limiting the conversion of gross-profit improvement into operating-margin expansion. Nevertheless, operating income growth exceeded revenue growth, indicating modest positive operating leverage overall. Operating cash flow was ¥1.492bn, equivalent to 1.46x net income, which supports the quality and cash realization of reported earnings. Free cash flow was also robust at ¥1.495bn because capital expenditures were only ¥0.054bn. Cash and deposits increased ¥9.08bn from the prior-period balance to ¥77.54bn, materially strengthening immediate liquidity. The balance sheet remains sound, with a 208.0% current ratio, 0.35x Debt/EBITDA, 5.5% debt/capital and EBITDA interest coverage of 415.8x. Annualized ROE was 20.9%, a high return level supported by fast annualized asset turnover of 3.353x and financial leverage of 1.83x. Q2 progress against full-year guidance is marginally ahead of the standard 50% pace: 50.5% for revenue, 52.1% for operating income and 51.7% for net income. Management has not revised either earnings or dividend guidance, implying that the current run-rate is broadly consistent with the full-year plan. The principal operational issue is low gross-margin structure at 14.6%, while the capital-allocation issue is exceptionally low CapEx relative to depreciation. The latter supports near-term free cash flow but warrants monitoring for its implications for the maintenance and renewal of the company’s property-management platform and property-related asset base.
Profitability Analysis
The supplied annualized DuPont analysis decomposes ROE of 20.9% into a 3.4% net profit margin, 3.353x asset turnover and 1.83x financial leverage. The principal driver of the high annualized ROE is asset turnover rather than net-margin strength: the 3.4% net margin is modest, while turnover is very high. Financial leverage also enhances equity returns, although the company’s covenant metrics indicate limited interest-bearing-debt burden, with Debt/EBITDA of 0.35x. Revenue growth of 2.8% was accompanied by 7.9% gross-profit growth, lifting gross margin to 14.6% from approximately 13.9% in the prior period. Operating income grew 4.7%, producing a modest operating-margin increase to 5.0% from approximately 4.9%. The improvement in gross margin was partly absorbed by SG&A growth of 9.7%, materially faster than sales growth, which is the main cost trend to monitor. EBITDA increased to ¥1.622bn and the EBITDA margin was 5.4%. JGAAP goodwill amortization was ¥0.150bn, or approximately 0.9% of EBITDA, and therefore does not materially distort comparison between EBITDA and reported operating profit. The tax burden was 0.673, corresponding to a 32.7% effective tax rate; this was the main deduction between pretax income and net income rather than financing costs. The interest burden was 1.006 because non-operating income slightly exceeded interest expense, and interest expense of ¥0.039bn was immaterial relative to EBIT. Ordinary income was only ¥0.008bn above operating income, while pretax income was ¥0.009bn above ordinary income, demonstrating that earnings were overwhelmingly generated from core operations. The prior-period pretax-income comparison was affected by a ¥0.802bn extraordinary gain, whereas the current-period extraordinary gain was only ¥0.002bn; accordingly, the 5.9% growth in current net income reflects improved recurring profitability despite the absence of a comparable exceptional gain.
Growth Assessment
Top-line growth was modest at 2.8%, but the gross-profit growth rate of 7.9% shows improved gross-profit conversion. The increase in operating income of 4.7% and net income of 5.9% was stronger than revenue growth, indicating an improving earnings trajectory at the half-year stage. The company operates as a single property-management segment, so the reported results represent one integrated operating model rather than diversification across separately disclosed business segments. Full-year guidance calls for revenue of ¥59.50bn, operating income of ¥2.900bn, ordinary income of ¥2.910bn and net income attributable to owners of ¥1.980bn. Q2 revenue progress is 50.5%, 0.5 percentage points above the standard 50% first-half benchmark. Operating-income progress is 52.1%, or 2.1 percentage points above the benchmark. Ordinary-income progress is 52.2%, also 2.2 percentage points ahead of the benchmark. Net-income progress is 51.7%, 1.7 percentage points ahead of the benchmark. These progress rates provide a modest cushion to unchanged guidance but do not by themselves indicate a material upside deviation. Full-year guidance implies 1.7% revenue growth and 10.0% operating-income growth, requiring continued gross-margin discipline and moderation in the relative growth of SG&A in the second half. The low 14.6% gross margin remains a structural sensitivity: relatively small changes in service costs or pricing can have a meaningful effect on operating profit. The low level of current capital expenditure may protect near-term free cash flow, but sustained growth should ultimately be assessed against the adequacy of investment in systems, property-related assets and service capacity.
Financial Health
Liquidity is strong. Current assets of ¥11.110bn exceed current liabilities of ¥5.341bn, resulting in working capital of ¥5.769bn and a current ratio of 208.0%. The quick ratio is also 208.0%, showing that liquidity is not dependent on inventory realization. Cash and deposits were ¥7.754bn, equal to 43.3% of total assets and substantially exceeding current liabilities. Interest-bearing debt was ¥0.572bn, consisting of long-term loans, while the current portion of long-term loans was ¥0.121bn. Debt service risk is limited by Debt/EBITDA of 0.35x, debt/capital of 5.5%, EBITDA interest coverage of 415.8x and operating-income interest coverage of 387.6x. The reported D/E ratio of 0.83x is below the 1.0x conservative benchmark and well below the 2.0x level that would require an explicit leverage warning. Current assets substantially exceed short-term obligations, so there is no apparent maturity mismatch between short-term funding needs and liquid assets. Total equity increased to ¥9.812bn from ¥9.255bn in the prior period, lifting the capital adequacy ratio to 54.8% from 53.1%. Total liabilities declined 1.0% to ¥8.099bn despite the increase in advances received, while total assets rose 2.7% to ¥17.911bn. Goodwill was only ¥0.243bn, or 2.5% of equity and 0.15x EBITDA, leaving balance-sheet value minimally dependent on acquired goodwill. Intangible assets were 2.9% of total assets, also indicating limited intangible-asset concentration. Treasury stock was ¥1.126bn, equivalent to 6.3% of total assets, and should remain relevant to per-share capital allocation and share-count trends.
Notable B/S Changes
Accounts payable: -¥2.38bn (-22.6%) year on year to ¥0.82bn - a substantial reduction in trade obligations; this contributed to working-capital cash outflow and should be assessed alongside supplier-payment timing. Income taxes payable: +¥1.17bn (+30.8%) year on year to ¥0.50bn - reflects higher accrued tax obligations and may create a subsequent operating-cash outflow when settled. Cash and deposits: +¥9.08bn (+13.3%) year on year to ¥7.75bn - strengthened liquidity and provides substantial flexibility for investment, debt reduction or shareholder returns. Advances received: +¥1.91bn (+7.8%) year on year to ¥2.64bn - supports operating cash flow, while also making future cash conversion partly dependent on the timing of customer advances. Intangible assets: -¥0.53bn (-9.2%) year on year to ¥0.53bn - largely consistent with amortization and indicates no material expansion of intangible-asset exposure.
Cash Flow Quality
Cash-flow quality is strong for the reported cumulative first-half period. Operating cash flow was ¥1.492bn, exceeding net income of ¥1.023bn by ¥0.469bn and producing an OCF/net-income ratio of 1.46x. This is comfortably above the 0.8x threshold that would indicate a potential earnings-quality concern. Cash conversion, measured as OCF/EBITDA, was 0.92x, demonstrating that EBITDA translated efficiently into operating cash generation. The accruals ratio was negative 2.6%, consistent with favorable cash realization rather than an earnings build-up in accruals. Operating cash flow increased 30.2% year on year, substantially faster than both revenue and net-income growth. The cash-flow result included a ¥1.332bn decrease in trade receivables, which was a source of cash, while a ¥2.378bn decrease in trade payables was a use of cash. Advances received increased ¥1.914bn and provided additional operating cash support. These working-capital movements are material to the period’s strong cash conversion and should be monitored for persistence, particularly the sustainability of advance receipts and the level of supplier-payment outflows. Capital expenditure was only ¥0.054bn, versus depreciation and amortization of ¥0.110bn, resulting in a CapEx/depreciation ratio of 0.05x. Consequently, free cash flow was ¥1.495bn, essentially equal to operating cash flow. The underinvestment alert is material: CapEx at only 5% of depreciation can be appropriate temporarily when prior investment has created excess capacity, but sustained spending below asset consumption may defer maintenance, renewal or growth expenditure. Investing cash flow was marginally positive at ¥0.025bn, indicating no significant acquisition or property-capital deployment during the period. Financing cash flow was negative ¥0.586bn, primarily reflecting ¥0.518bn in dividends paid and ¥0.067bn in long-term-loan repayments. Net cash increased ¥0.908bn, reinforcing the already strong liquidity position.
Dividend Sustainability
The declared Q2 dividend per share is ¥0. The full-year forecast also states dividend per share of ¥0, and management has not revised dividend guidance. A conventional dividend payout ratio cannot be calculated from the disclosed current dividend figures because no FY2026 dividend per share is forecast. Cash dividends paid during the first half were ¥0.518bn, likely reflecting payment timing associated with a prior declaration, and were covered 2.9x by first-half free cash flow of ¥1.495bn. This cash coverage indicates that the period’s actual shareholder cash distribution did not strain internally generated cash. Financing cash flow remained negative despite the absence of a current Q2 dividend declaration, but the company still recorded a ¥0.908bn increase in cash. Retained earnings were ¥10.100bn, materially above total equity because of treasury stock, supporting financial flexibility. Future dividend capacity is underpinned by high cash balances, low debt and strong operating cash conversion. However, a sustainable distribution assessment should continue to consider whether the very low capital-expenditure run-rate represents a deferral of future investment needs rather than permanently surplus cash generation.
Risk Assessment
Business risks include Margin sensitivity: the 14.6% gross margin is below the 20% quality-alert benchmark. Although it improved by approximately 69bp year on year, a low-margin property-management model remains sensitive to labor, subcontracting, repair and service-cost inflation., Cost discipline: SG&A increased 9.7%, compared with 2.8% revenue growth. Continued SG&A growth above sales growth could reverse the modest 9bp operating-margin improvement., Property-management industry exposure: demand and client retention can be affected by rental-market conditions, property-owner investment behavior, tenant occupancy, property transactions and competitive pricing in management services., Investment adequacy: CapEx/depreciation of 0.05x is materially below the 0.7x underinvestment threshold. If prolonged, this may constrain service-platform enhancement or lead to deferred maintenance and higher future expenditure..
Financial risks include Working-capital variability: the strong ¥1.492bn operating cash flow benefited from a ¥1.332bn reduction in receivables and a ¥1.914bn increase in advances received, while trade payables declined by ¥2.378bn. Reversal of these movements could reduce future cash conversion., Capital-allocation risk: the company has a large cash balance of ¥7.754bn and treasury stock of ¥1.126bn. The effectiveness of deploying surplus cash, including the balance between investment, debt reduction and shareholder returns, remains relevant to per-share value creation., Tax-rate sensitivity: the effective tax rate was 32.7%, producing a tax burden of 0.673. Changes in taxable income or tax items could affect net-income conversion despite stable operating profit..
Key concerns include High likelihood/moderate impact: SG&A growth is currently faster than revenue growth and is the clearest near-term constraint on further margin expansion., Moderate likelihood/moderate impact: low gross margin leaves earnings sensitive to modest cost or pricing changes despite the current improvement., Moderate likelihood/moderate impact: exceptionally low CapEx supports reported free cash flow but may not be sustainable if asset renewal or growth investment normalizes., Low likelihood/low impact: refinancing and interest-rate exposure appear limited because debt/EBITDA is 0.35x, debt/capital is 5.5% and interest coverage exceeds 380x..
Investment Implications
Key takeaways include Revenue, operating income and net income increased 2.8%, 4.7% and 5.9% year on year, respectively, with modest margin expansion., Annualized ROE of 20.9% is strong, driven primarily by annualized asset turnover of 3.353x rather than a high net margin., Operating cash flow of ¥1.492bn exceeded net income by 46%, while free cash flow reached ¥1.495bn., Liquidity and debt service capacity are strong, supported by ¥7.754bn cash, a 208.0% current ratio, 0.35x Debt/EBITDA and 415.8x EBITDA interest coverage., Guidance progress is slightly ahead of the standard first-half pace, with operating income at 52.1% and net income at 51.7% of full-year forecasts., Quality alerts center on low gross margin and CapEx/depreciation of only 0.05x; these are more relevant to the durability of future profitability and cash generation than to current solvency..
Metrics to watch include Gross margin and operating margin, particularly whether the 14.6% and 5.0% levels can be sustained or expanded., SG&A growth relative to revenue growth., Second-half conversion of guidance, especially progress toward ¥2.900bn operating income and ¥1.980bn net income., Operating cash flow excluding the effects of changes in receivables, payables and advances received., Capital expenditure relative to depreciation and the rationale for the current 0.05x ratio., Cash balance, treasury-share movements and future shareholder-return disclosures..
Regarding relative positioning, JPMC exhibits a financially conservative profile, with very strong liquidity, minimal debt-service pressure and limited goodwill dependence. Its annualized ROE is above the stated high-return benchmark, but that return is turnover-led rather than margin-led. Relative operating quality is supported by cash conversion, whereas the low gross margin and unusually low reinvestment rate are the principal areas requiring continued scrutiny.