Back to Articles
97462026 Q1PrimeJGAAP

TKC (9746) FY2026 Q1 Earnings Report

For FY2026 Q1, revenue came to ¥24.2B (+38.0% year on year) and operating income ¥8.3B (+111.2%). The segment drivers and cash flow follow.

TKC Corporation

IT & Services, Others/Information & Communication


Quick View

MetricCurrentPriorYoY
Revenue¥241.9B¥175.3B+38.0%
Operating Income¥82.9B¥39.2B+111.2%
Ordinary Income¥85.4B¥41.2B+107.1%
Net Income¥59.2B¥28.1B+110.5%
ROE5.3%2.6%-

Executive Summary

FY2025 Q1 results demonstrated exceptional growth with Revenue of 241.9B yen (YoY +38.0%), Operating Income of 82.9B yen (+111.2%), Ordinary Income of 85.4B yen (+107.1%), and Net Income of 59.2B yen (+110.5%). The substantial revenue expansion was primarily driven by the Local Government segment, which more than doubled external sales from 4.8B yen to 10.9B yen. The high gross profit margin of 73.0% enabled strong operating leverage, with operating profit margin reaching 34.3% compared to industry median of 5.3%. Basic EPS surged to 115.34 yen from 53.88 yen (+114.1%), reflecting the significant profit improvement. The company maintained a conservative balance sheet with equity ratio of 86.1% and cash holdings of 357.2B yen, though accounts receivable collection cycles lengthened to 208 days.

Performance Drivers

Revenue growth of 38.0% was primarily driven by the Local Government segment, which expanded from 4.8B yen to 10.9B yen in external sales (+124.9%), representing 44.9% of total revenue. The Accounting Firm segment contributed 126.8B yen (+5.5% YoY), maintaining stable growth and accounting for 52.4% of total revenue as the company's largest business line. The Printing segment contracted to 9.5B yen (-5.8% YoY), continuing its structural decline. Cost of sales increased to 65.2B yen, but at a slower pace than revenue growth, resulting in gross profit of 176.7B yen at a 73.0% margin. SG&A expenses rose to 93.8B yen (38.8% of revenue), but the absolute increase was well controlled relative to revenue expansion, driving operating leverage. Operating income surged to 82.9B yen from 39.2B yen, with operating margin expanding to 34.3% from 22.4%. Non-operating income contributed 2.6B yen, primarily from dividend income of 2.0B yen and interest income of 0.1B yen, representing stable investment returns. Extraordinary losses of 0.3B yen were minimal, consisting mainly of asset disposal losses. The income tax expense of 25.9B yen represented an effective tax rate of approximately 30.5%, resulting in net income of 59.2B yen. The progression from operating income to net income showed healthy conversion with ordinary income at 103.0% of operating income and net income at 69.3% of ordinary income. This represents a revenue up/profit up pattern, with profit growth significantly outpacing revenue growth due to operating leverage from the high gross margin business model and effective cost control.

Segment Analysis

The Accounting Firm segment remains the core business, generating 126.8B yen in revenue (52.4% share) and 32.7B yen in operating income at a 25.8% margin. This segment demonstrated stable performance with revenue growth of 5.5% YoY and sustained profitability. The Local Government segment emerged as the primary growth driver, with revenue of 108.7B yen (44.9% share) and operating income of 51.6B yen at an exceptional 47.4% margin. This segment's revenue more than doubled from the prior year, with operating income increasing dramatically from 7.4B yen to 51.6B yen. The Printing segment remained in structural decline with revenue of 9.5B yen (3.9% share) and an operating loss of 1.4B yen (margin of -14.8%). The segment's loss deepened from -1.0B yen in the prior year, reflecting ongoing challenges in this legacy business line. The material margin differential between segments is noteworthy, with the Local Government segment's 47.4% margin significantly exceeding both the Accounting Firm segment's 25.8% and the company's overall 34.3% operating margin, indicating high profitability from public sector engagements.

Key Metrics

[Profitability] ROE of 5.3% is below the industry median of 0.2% for 2025-Q1, though direct comparison is limited by industry sample size. Operating margin of 34.3% substantially exceeds the industry median of 5.3%, demonstrating superior operational efficiency. Net profit margin of 24.5% significantly outperforms the industry median of 0.6%, reflecting the company's high-margin business model concentrated in software and services for public and professional sectors. [Cash Quality] Cash and deposits of 357.2B yen provide substantial liquidity, with cash covering short-term liabilities 2.41 times. However, accounts receivable of 138.2B yen represent 208 days of sales outstanding, indicating extended collection cycles that warrant monitoring. Working capital of 381.6B yen reflects strong short-term financial capacity. [Investment Efficiency] Asset turnover of 0.187 aligns with the industry median of 0.18, reflecting the asset-intensive nature of the business with significant holdings in property, plant and equipment (175.9B yen) and investment securities (214.6B yen). Return on invested capital (ROIC) of 0.01 appears suppressed by the calculation methodology, though underlying operational profitability remains strong. [Financial Health] Equity ratio of 86.1% exceeds the industry median of 68.9%, demonstrating exceptional financial stability. Current ratio of 357.8% and quick ratio of 352.2% indicate robust liquidity positioning. Debt-to-equity ratio of 0.16 reflects minimal leverage, with net defined benefit liability of 18.2B yen representing the primary long-term obligation. Total assets of 1,295.2B yen remained stable, while retained earnings increased to 959.4B yen, supporting internal capital generation capacity.

Cash Flow Analysis

Cash and deposits of 357.2B yen provide substantial liquidity coverage, representing 27.6% of total assets and sufficient to cover current liabilities 2.41 times. The strong cash position reflects cumulative operating profit generation, though specific cash flow statement data for the quarterly period is not disclosed. Working capital expanded to 381.6B yen with current assets of 529.6B yen exceeding current liabilities of 148.0B yen by a significant margin. Accounts receivable of 138.2B yen increased in absolute terms, with the collection cycle extending to 208 days, suggesting that revenue growth has not yet fully converted to cash. Investment securities holdings of 214.6B yen generate non-operating income through dividends of 2.0B yen, contributing to cash generation outside core operations. The absence of significant debt obligations and interest expenses preserves cash for operational needs and shareholder returns. Trade payables of 25.4B yen indicate conservative supplier credit utilization. The balance sheet structure suggests free cash flow generation capacity, though the extended receivables cycle requires accelerated collection efforts to optimize cash conversion. Net defined benefit liability of 18.2B yen represents a manageable long-term obligation relative to the cash position.

Earnings Quality

Ordinary income of 85.4B yen versus operating income of 82.9B yen reflects a net non-operating contribution of approximately 2.5B yen, demonstrating that core operating performance drives earnings. Non-operating income of 2.6B yen comprises primarily dividend income of 2.0B yen and interest income of 0.1B yen, representing stable investment returns from the 214.6B yen investment securities portfolio. Non-operating income represents 1.1% of revenue, indicating minimal dependency on financial activities. Extraordinary losses of 0.3B yen were immaterial, consisting mainly of asset disposal losses of 0.1B yen, reflecting routine asset turnover rather than structural adjustments. Comprehensive income of 61.3B yen exceeded net income of 59.2B yen by 2.1B yen, with valuation differences on securities contributing 1.7B yen and remeasurements of defined benefit plans adding 0.4B yen, indicating positive mark-to-market adjustments. The high gross profit margin of 73.0% and operating margin of 34.3% suggest limited risk of earnings manipulation through cost deferral. However, the extended accounts receivable cycle of 208 days raises questions about revenue recognition timing and collection probability. While specific operating cash flow data is not disclosed for the quarter, the stable cash position of 357.2B yen and absence of unusual working capital deterioration suggest earnings are broadly cash-backed, though receivables management requires attention to confirm earnings quality sustainability.

Guidance Update

Progress against full-year guidance shows Revenue at 28.3% (241.9B yen versus 855.0B yen target), Operating Income at 49.9% (82.9B yen versus 166.0B yen target), and Net Income at 48.7% (59.2B yen versus 121.5B yen target). The Q1 progress rate for operating and net income significantly exceeds the standard 25% quarterly benchmark, indicating front-loaded profitability likely driven by the Local Government segment's project timing. Revenue progress of 28.3% is closer to the expected quarterly pace, suggesting the profit outperformance stems from operational efficiency rather than accelerated revenue recognition. The company maintained its full-year guidance without revision, implying management expects normalization in subsequent quarters or maintains conservative assumptions. Full-year targets project revenue growth of +2.4%, operating income growth of +2.8%, and ordinary income growth of +3.1%, representing modest expansion compared to Q1's exceptional performance. Forecast EPS of 235.37 yen and dividend forecast of 55.0 yen per share provide clear shareholder return targets. The material gap between Q1 momentum and full-year guidance suggests either significant quarter-to-quarter variability expected in business performance, conservative forecasting methodology, or one-time factors benefiting Q1 that management does not expect to recur.

Shareholder Returns

The company forecasts an annual dividend of 55.0 yen per share for the full fiscal year, with interim dividend of 50.0 yen and year-end dividend of 60.0 yen disclosed in supplementary materials, totaling 110.0 yen, though the official forecast states 55.0 yen requiring clarification. Based on Q1 annualized EPS of 115.34 yen and assuming the 110.0 yen total dividend schedule, the implied payout ratio would be approximately 95.3%, representing an exceptionally high dividend commitment. Using the official forecast EPS of 235.37 yen and 55.0 yen dividend yields a payout ratio of 23.4%, which appears more sustainable. The prior year featured an ordinary dividend of 50.0 yen plus special dividend of 10.0 yen, totaling 60.0 yen, suggesting either dividend continuity or reduction depending on interpretation. No share buyback activities were disclosed for the current quarter. The high equity ratio of 86.1% and substantial cash holdings of 357.2B yen provide financial capacity to support dividend payments, though the extended receivables cycle of 208 days could constrain cash generation. Clarification of the dividend policy discrepancy between the 55.0 yen forecast and 110.0 yen schedule is essential for assessing shareholder return sustainability and management's capital allocation priorities.

Risk Factors

Customer concentration risk in the Local Government segment represents a primary concern, as this segment now contributes 44.9% of revenue and 62.2% of operating income with a 47.4% margin. Public sector budget cycles, procurement policy changes, or contract timing shifts could create significant revenue volatility. The extended accounts receivable collection cycle of 208 days (DSO) poses working capital and credit risk, particularly given that receivables of 138.2B yen represent 57.1% of total revenue. If collection deterioration persists or accelerates, cash flow constraints and potential bad debt write-offs could materialize. The Printing segment's structural decline with operating losses of 1.4B yen and negative margin of -14.8% indicates a legacy business requiring strategic resolution, as continued losses drain resources and management attention from growth segments.

Industry Benchmark (Reference - Proprietary Data)

[Industry Position] (Reference - Proprietary Analysis)

Profitability: ROE 5.3% exceeds industry median of 0.2% (2025-Q1), though limited sample size constrains comparison validity. Operating Margin 34.3% substantially outperforms industry median of 5.3%, ranking at the high end of the sector distribution and reflecting the company's concentration in high-margin software and professional services for government and accounting sectors. Net Profit Margin 24.5% significantly exceeds industry median of 0.6%, demonstrating superior conversion of revenue to bottom-line profit. Financial Health: Equity Ratio 86.1% surpasses industry median of 68.9%, positioning the company in the top quartile for financial stability with minimal leverage risk. Efficiency: Asset Turnover 0.187 aligns closely with industry median of 0.18, appropriate for asset-intensive business models in IT and telecommunications services. Growth: Revenue Growth YoY 38.0% substantially exceeds industry median of 25.5%, driven by exceptional Local Government segment expansion. The company's Rule of 40 score (revenue growth + operating margin) of approximately 72.3% far exceeds the industry median of 0.31, indicating exceptional combined growth and profitability performance.

※ Industry: IT and Telecommunications (3 companies), Comparison: 2025-Q1 period, Source: Proprietary analysis

Key Takeaways from Earnings

[Key Takeaways from Earnings] The Q1 results demonstrate exceptional operational leverage, with operating income growth of 111.2% substantially exceeding revenue growth of 38.0%, driven by the 73.0% gross margin business model and disciplined SG&A management. The Local Government segment has emerged as a transformational growth engine, more than doubling revenue and generating a 47.4% operating margin that now accounts for 62.2% of total operating income, fundamentally shifting the business mix toward high-margin public sector engagements. The extended accounts receivable cycle of 208 days represents the most critical operational risk, as the 138.2B yen receivables balance suggests revenue growth has outpaced cash collection, requiring immediate management focus on accelerating conversion and validating revenue quality. Shareholder return policy requires clarification given the discrepancy between the 55.0 yen dividend forecast and the 110.0 yen schedule disclosed in supplementary materials, with implications for payout sustainability and capital allocation priorities. The conservative full-year guidance maintained despite exceptional Q1 performance suggests either significant business seasonality, project timing concentration in early quarters, or management conservatism that may lead to upward revisions if current momentum sustains.


This report was automatically generated by AI analyzing XBRL earnings data as an earnings analysis tool. This is not a recommendation to invest in any specific security. Industry benchmarks are reference information compiled from publicly available earnings data. Please make investment decisions at your own responsibility and consult professionals as needed.


AI Financial Analysis

Executive Summary

TKC delivered an exceptionally strong FY2026 Q1, with revenue and earnings materially ahead of the comparable quarter. Revenue increased 38.0% YoY to ¥24.19bn. Operating income more than doubled, rising 111.2% YoY to ¥8.29bn. Ordinary income rose 107.1% to ¥8.54bn. Net income attributable to owners increased 110.5% to ¥5.92bn, equivalent to EPS of ¥115.34. The gross margin improved by 50bp YoY to 73.0%. Operating margin expanded by approximately 1,190bp to 34.3% from 22.4% in the prior-year quarter. Net margin expanded by approximately 850bp to 24.5% from 16.0%. Gross profit growth of 39.0% modestly exceeded revenue growth, while SG&A rose only 6.8%, demonstrating substantial operating leverage. The key driver was the Local Government Business, where revenue rose 124.9% and segment profit rose to ¥5.16bn from ¥0.74bn. The Accounting Firm Business remained highly profitable, although its segment profit declined marginally despite 5.5% revenue growth. The Printing Business remained loss-making and recorded a wider operating loss. Non-operating income was limited relative to sales, with dividend income of ¥0.20bn the largest component, so operating performance was the principal source of earnings growth. The effective tax rate was 30.5%, producing a tax burden ratio of 0.695. FY2026 Q1 revenue progress reached 28.3% of the full-year forecast, while operating-income and net-income progress were approximately 49.9% and 48.7%, respectively. This front-loaded profit progress supports earnings momentum, but also raises the importance of confirming whether the unusually strong Local Government Business contribution is repeatable through the remainder of the fiscal year. The balance sheet remains exceptionally conservative, with a 357.8% current ratio, ¥35.72bn of cash and deposits, and D/E of only 0.16x. The full-year dividend forecast of ¥110 per share implies a prospective payout ratio of 46.7%, which appears consistent with the company’s earnings capacity and capital position.

Profitability Analysis

Annualized DuPont ROE is 21.2%, comprising a 24.5% net profit margin, 0.747x annualized asset turnover, and 1.16x financial leverage. The principal contributor to the high annualized ROE is profitability rather than leverage: net margin is well above the 10% excellent benchmark, while leverage remains low. Annualized asset turnover is moderate, reflecting TKC’s substantial cash, investment securities, property and intangible-asset base. Financial leverage of 1.16x indicates that the company has not relied on debt to generate returns. The largest YoY change was the operating-margin expansion to 34.3%, driven by a 38.0% sales increase against only 6.8% SG&A growth. Cost of sales rose 35.2%, below revenue growth, supporting the 50bp gross-margin gain. The Local Government Business generated segment profit of ¥5.16bn on revenue of ¥10.87bn, equating to a 47.4% segment margin and accounting for approximately 62% of consolidated operating income. The Accounting Firm Business remains a core recurring-profit contributor, generating ¥3.27bn of segment profit on ¥12.67bn of revenue, or a 25.8% margin. However, the Accounting Firm Business margin declined from 27.3% a year earlier, as segment profit fell 0.5% despite sales growth. The Printing Business recorded a segment loss of ¥0.14bn, versus a ¥0.10bn loss in the prior year, and remains dilutive to group profitability. The five-factor analysis also shows a 1.027 interest burden, reflecting net non-operating income and a balance sheet with limited funding pressure. The tax burden ratio of 0.695 is close to the normal benchmark, with the 30.5% effective tax rate broadly consistent with recurring domestic taxation.

Growth Assessment

Revenue growth was led overwhelmingly by the Local Government Business, whose external revenue rose ¥6.04bn YoY, or 124.9%, to ¥10.87bn. This segment accounted for roughly 73% of the group’s ¥6.66bn revenue increase. Accounting Firm Business revenue increased ¥0.66bn, or 5.5%, to ¥12.67bn, providing a stable base of high-margin earnings. Printing Business external revenue declined 5.8% to ¥0.65bn. Consolidated operating income increased by ¥4.36bn, with the Local Government Business contributing an incremental ¥4.42bn of segment profit; this more than offset the modest earnings decline in the Accounting Firm Business and the larger Printing Business loss. The operating-income growth rate of 111.2% substantially exceeded the 38.0% revenue-growth rate, demonstrating strong operating leverage. Full-year company guidance calls for only 2.4% revenue growth and 2.8% operating-income growth, compared with the prior fiscal year. Q1 progress is therefore well ahead of a standard 25% quarterly pace: revenue is 3.3 percentage points ahead, and operating income is 24.9 percentage points ahead. Net income has reached 48.7% of the full-year forecast, 23.7 percentage points above the standard pace. This variance indicates that the timing and persistence of Local Government Business sales and profit recognition will be central to assessing full-year forecast delivery. Management has not revised guidance, so the strong Q1 should be considered against the possibility of seasonality or project timing in subsequent quarters.

Financial Health

Financial health is very strong. Current assets of ¥52.96bn exceeded current liabilities of ¥14.80bn by ¥38.16bn, producing a current ratio of 357.8% and a quick ratio of 352.2%. Cash and deposits of ¥35.72bn alone represent 241% of current liabilities. Receivables were ¥13.82bn and inventories only ¥0.83bn, indicating low inventory intensity and strong near-term liquidity coverage. Total liabilities were ¥17.98bn, equal to only 13.9% of total assets, while total equity was ¥111.54bn. The debt-to-equity ratio of 0.16x is conservative and well below the 1.0x benchmark. Current liabilities are covered by liquid current assets, limiting maturity-mismatch risk. Non-current liabilities of ¥3.18bn primarily include the ¥1.82bn net defined-benefit liability, while provision for bonuses was ¥1.39bn. Contract liabilities were ¥1.16bn, providing a modest source of customer-funded operating capital. Investment securities totaled ¥21.46bn, or 16.6% of assets, and valuation differences on securities amounted to ¥5.46bn; earnings and equity therefore retain some sensitivity to market-value movements. Treasury stock decreased in absolute contra-equity value by ¥1.84bn, from negative ¥3.06bn to negative ¥1.22bn, a 60.2% reduction. This change increased reported equity relative to a scenario in which the shares remained held in treasury and should be monitored as a capital-allocation and per-share-value factor. Total equity increased ¥3.05bn YoY despite total assets declining slightly by ¥0.29bn, improving the equity ratio to 86.1% from 83.6%.

Notable B/S Changes

Treasury stock: negative ¥3.06bn to negative ¥1.22bn, a ¥1.84bn reduction in contra-equity value (60.2%) - supports reported equity and is relevant to capital-allocation and per-share analysis. Provision for bonuses: ¥5.31bn to ¥1.39bn, down ¥3.92bn (73.8%) - materially reduced current obligations and contributed to the stronger liquidity position. Total equity: ¥108.50bn to ¥111.54bn, up ¥3.05bn (2.8%) - equity growth alongside slightly lower total assets lifted the capital adequacy ratio to 86.1%.

Cash Flow Quality

Dividend Sustainability

The full-year dividend forecast is ¥110 per share, compared with forecast EPS of ¥235.37. This implies a dividend-only payout ratio of approximately 46.7%, below the 60% sustainability benchmark. Q1 EPS of ¥115.34 already exceeds the projected full-year dividend per share, although quarterly earnings should not be treated as a full-year run rate. The prior fiscal year-end dividend was ¥60 per share, comprising a ¥50 ordinary dividend and a ¥10 special dividend. The forecast dividend therefore indicates a higher planned shareholder distribution than the prior year-end payment. Retained earnings of ¥95.94bn and total equity of ¥111.54bn provide a substantial capital buffer for the planned dividend. The low 0.16x D/E ratio and large cash balance further support dividend capacity. Sustainability will principally depend on maintaining the profitability contribution from the Local Government Business and the Accounting Firm Business rather than on balance-sheet financing.

Risk Assessment

Business risks include Local Government Business concentration: the segment generated approximately 62% of Q1 consolidated operating income after a 124.9% revenue increase. Any normalization in public-sector project volume, implementation timing, procurement cycles or pricing could materially affect group earnings., Accounting Firm Business margin risk: segment revenue rose 5.5%, but segment profit declined 0.5% and margin fell by approximately 150bp to 25.8%. Continued personnel, development or customer-support cost pressure could limit earnings growth in this core business., Printing Business profitability risk: external revenue declined 5.8% and the segment loss widened to ¥0.14bn. Persistent losses could dilute consolidated returns and require management action on cost structure or business positioning., Public-sector IT execution risk: the Local Government Business is exposed to system implementation, delivery capacity, cybersecurity, data handling and tender-related risks that could affect revenue recognition, costs and customer relationships..

Financial risks include Investment-security valuation exposure: investment securities of ¥21.46bn equal 16.6% of total assets, and valuation differences on securities are ¥5.46bn. Market-price declines could adversely affect other comprehensive income and equity., Defined-benefit obligation exposure: the net defined-benefit liability was ¥1.82bn, creating sensitivity to discount rates, asset returns and actuarial assumptions., Earnings timing risk: Q1 operating-income progress of 49.9% against full-year guidance is far above the standard 25% pace, making subsequent-quarter revenue recognition and profit conversion especially important..

Key concerns include Whether Local Government Business profitability can remain near the Q1 segment margin of 47.4%., Whether the Accounting Firm Business can restore segment-margin expansion while maintaining growth., Whether the loss-making Printing Business can narrow losses or avoid further deterioration., Whether securities-market movements affect the company’s substantial accumulated valuation gains..

Investment Implications

Key takeaways include Q1 operating income rose 111.2% YoY to ¥8.29bn, driven by strong operating leverage and a step-change in Local Government Business earnings., The group’s operating margin expanded to 34.3%, while annualized ROE reached 21.2% with only 1.16x financial leverage., The Local Government Business was the largest operating-profit contributor in Q1, generating ¥5.16bn of segment profit., Liquidity and capitalization are exceptionally strong, with a 357.8% current ratio, 86.1% equity ratio and 0.16x D/E ratio., The ¥110 per-share full-year dividend forecast implies a 46.7% dividend payout ratio based on forecast EPS..

Metrics to watch include Local Government Business quarterly revenue, segment margin and backlog conversion, Accounting Firm Business revenue growth and segment-margin recovery, Printing Business losses and restructuring or efficiency progress, Full-year guidance progress, particularly whether operating-income progress normalizes after Q1, Investment-securities valuation changes and their effect on comprehensive income and equity, Treasury-share movements and their implications for capital allocation and per-share metrics.

Regarding relative positioning, TKC combines unusually high software and service-like profitability with a very conservative balance sheet. Its annualized ROE of 21.2% is generated predominantly through margins rather than leverage, differentiating it from businesses that depend on debt-funded returns. The main comparative consideration is the durability of the exceptionally high Q1 Local Government Business margin and the weaker profitability trend in the Printing Business.