Back to Articles
79722026 Q1PrimeJGAAP

ITOKI (7972) FY2026 Q1 Earnings Report

For FY2026 Q1, revenue came to ¥47.2B (+10.5% year on year) and operating income ¥8.1B (+9.0%). The segment drivers and cash flow follow.

IT & Services, Others/Other Products


Quick View

MetricCurrent PeriodSame Period Previous YearYoY
Revenue¥472.2B¥427.4B+10.5%
Operating Income¥80.9B¥74.2B+9.0%
Ordinary Income¥80.9B¥73.2B+10.6%
Net Income¥55.4B¥49.1B+12.8%
ROE9.4%8.6%-

Executive Summary

ITOKI delivered a strong quarter characterized by higher revenue and income, with profit growth exceeding revenue growth, highlighting its high profitability. Revenue was ¥472.2B (+10.5% year on year), Operating Income was ¥80.9B (+9.0%), Ordinary Income was ¥80.9B (+10.6%), and Net Income was ¥55.4B (+12.8%). The sharp growth of the Facilities Equipment Public Business drove the increase in income, while the Operating Income margin remained high at 17.1%.

Factors Affecting Results

【Revenue】Revenue increased 10.5% year on year to ¥472.2B. By segment, the Workplace Business remained the core business with revenue of ¥365.3B (77.3% of total, YoY +5.4%), while the Facilities Equipment Public Business expanded sharply to ¥103.9B (22.0% of total, YoY +33.7%), providing significant support for revenue growth. By region, Japan accounted for the majority at ¥451.2B (+9.9%), while Asia, although smaller in scale at ¥20.3B, achieved high growth of +32.5%.

【Profit and Loss】Operating Income was ¥80.9B (+9.0%), and Ordinary Income was ¥80.9B (+10.6%). Non-operating income and expenses were almost balanced at income of ¥2.1B and expenses of ¥2.1B, indicating favorable conversion into profit. Extraordinary gains and losses consisted of gains of ¥0.6B and losses of ¥0.9B, resulting in a limited net negative impact of ¥0.3B, indicating that the effect of temporary factors was minor. Net Income of ¥55.4B increased 12.8%, exceeding the 9.0% growth in Operating Income, partly due to a relative decline in the burden of income taxes and other taxes. By segment profit, the Workplace Business was nearly flat at ¥70.6B (+0.7%, profit margin 19.3%), whereas the Facilities Equipment Public Business posted ¥10.0B (+168.9%, profit margin 9.7%, a significant improvement from 4.8% in the previous year), demonstrating notable improvement in profitability. In conclusion, the Company achieved both revenue and profit growth.

Segment Analysis

The Workplace Business reported revenue of ¥365.3B (77.3% of total, YoY +5.4%) and Operating Income of ¥70.6B (+0.7%), accounting for 87.3% of consolidated Operating Income. Although it is the core business, profit growth remained close to flat. The Facilities Equipment Public Business achieved significant profit growth, with revenue of ¥103.9B (22.0% of total, YoY +33.7%) and Operating Income of ¥10.0B (+168.9%). Its profit margin improved from 4.8% to 9.7%, making it the primary driver of overall profit growth. By region, Japan is the main market, accounting for 95.5% of revenue, while Asia demonstrated high growth of +32.5%.

Key Financial Metrics

【Profitability】The Operating Income margin of 17.1% declined slightly from 17.4% in the same period of the previous year, but the Net Income margin of 11.7% improved by approximately 23bp year on year, indicating that cost efficiency associated with revenue growth was generally maintained. ROE was 9.4%. Among its components—Net Income margin × total asset turnover of 0.34x × financial leverage of 2.32x—total asset turnover remains an area for improvement.【Cash Flow Quality】Accounts receivable amounted to ¥399.4B, representing 29.1% of total assets, and accounts receivable days reached approximately 77 days as revenue expanded, suggesting that the pace of cash conversion from higher revenue has slowed somewhat. Inventories were ¥76.0B, representing only 5.5% of total assets, indicating limited production-related accumulation.【Investment Efficiency】EPS was ¥112.10 (¥99.92 in the previous year, +12.2%), while BPS was ¥1,195.35 (¥1,147.78 in the previous year), indicating steady accumulation of per-share value.【Financial Soundness】The Equity Ratio was 43.1% (43.4% in the previous year), remaining broadly stable. The fact that current liabilities account for 69.8% of total liabilities warrants ongoing monitoring of short-term liquidity management.

Cash Flow Analysis

Although detailed disclosure of the cash flow statement is unavailable, the balance sheet trends provide insight into fund movements. Cash and deposits were ¥208.2B, slightly down from ¥216.3B in the same period of the previous year. Trade receivables—accounts receivable of ¥399.4B and electronically recorded monetary claims of ¥92.9B—have accumulated significantly from the previous year, suggesting that the working capital burden associated with revenue growth may be affecting capital efficiency. Short-term borrowings increased substantially to ¥218.8B from ¥128.3B in the previous year, indicating that part of the working capital and capital expenditure funding appears to have been financed through short-term borrowings. Retained earnings steadily accumulated to ¥446.4B from the previous year, indicating that profit accumulation from the core business is continuing.

Quality of Earnings

Operating Income of ¥80.9B and Ordinary Income of ¥80.9B were nearly identical. The balance between non-operating income of ¥2.1B and non-operating expenses of ¥2.1B indicates that the majority of profit was generated by recurring core business operations. Non-operating income consisted primarily of small items, including foreign exchange gains of ¥0.7B and dividends received of ¥0.1B, and the Company does not appear to depend on any particular one-off source of income. Extraordinary gains and losses comprised gains of ¥0.6B, including gains on the sale of investment securities of ¥0.1B, and losses of ¥0.9B, including losses on the disposal of fixed assets. Although the net result was slightly negative, the impact on Net Income of ¥55.4B was minor. Comprehensive Income was ¥60.5B, exceeding Net Income of ¥55.4B, primarily due to a ¥5.1B increase in valuation difference on securities. The fact that valuation gains from non-operating activities increased Comprehensive Income warrants attention.

Earnings Forecast and Guidance

Against the full-year earnings forecast of Revenue of ¥1,675.0B, Operating Income of ¥160.0B, and Ordinary Income of ¥160.0B, progress in Q1 was 28.2% for Revenue, 50.6% for Operating Income, and 50.6% for Ordinary Income. Operating Income and Ordinary Income therefore significantly exceeded the standard 25% level. The full-year plan assumes an Operating Income margin of 9.6%; given the gap between this figure and the Q1 margin of 17.1%, the plan may assume that the profit margin will normalize toward the second half of the fiscal year. There were no revisions to either the earnings forecast or the dividend forecast, and current progress is at a favorable level toward achieving the full-year plan.

Shareholder Returns

The full-year dividend forecast remains ¥90.00 per share, with no revision. Based on the full-year EPS forecast of ¥226.68, the Payout Ratio is approximately 39.7%, within the generally sustainable guideline of less than 60%. Q1 EPS was ¥112.10, reaching 49.5% of the full-year forecast, indicating that earnings progress is at a level supporting the annual dividend plan. The Company holds 3.975 million treasury shares, but has not disclosed any newly implemented share repurchase program. Accordingly, this report uses only the Payout Ratio as the shareholder return evaluation metric.

Risk Factors

  1. Slowing profit growth in the core business: The Workplace Business accounts for 87.3% of consolidated Operating Income, but its Operating Income growth rate was limited to +0.7%, remaining close to flat. The Company’s overall profit structure is highly dependent on project trends in this business.

  2. Extension of accounts receivable days: The combined balance of accounts receivable of ¥399.4B and electronically recorded monetary claims of ¥92.9B has accumulated, and accounts receivable days have reached approximately 77 days. The expansion of receivables during a period of revenue growth may affect capital efficiency.

  3. Dependence on short-term liabilities: Short-term borrowings were ¥218.8B, up from ¥128.3B in the previous year, while current liabilities account for 69.8% of total liabilities. Although interest coverage is robust at 60.8x, borrowing refinancing terms and interest rate trends require continued monitoring.

Industry Benchmark (For Reference; Prepared by the Company)

Industry Benchmark (manufacturing)

Profitability and Returns

MetricCompanyMedian (IQR)Delta
Operating Income Margin17.1%7.2% (3.2%–12.5%)+9.9pt
Net Income Margin11.7%5.9% (2.9%–12.5%)+5.9pt

Profitability is substantially above the industry median, and the earnings structure ranks in the upper tier of the industry.

Growth and Capital Efficiency

MetricCompanyMedian (IQR)Delta
Revenue Growth Rate (Year on Year)10.5%5.6% (1.1%–13.9%)+4.9pt

The revenue growth rate also exceeds the industry median, although it has not reached the upper quartile of 13.9%, placing it in the upper range of the industry.

※Source: Prepared by the Company

Key Points from the Earnings Results

  1. The Facilities Equipment Public Business posted a sharp 168.9% increase in Operating Income, while its profit margin improved from 4.8% to 9.7%, making it the primary driver of profit growth in Q1. Whether the improvement in this business’s profitability is temporary or structural will be a key focus going forward.

  2. The full-year progress rates for both Operating Income and Ordinary Income were 50.6%, significantly above the standard level. However, there is a gap between the full-year plan’s assumed Operating Income margin of 9.6% and the Q1 actual margin of 17.1%, requiring close monitoring of profit margin trends in the second half of the fiscal year.

  3. Although the Net Income margin improved year on year, the lengthening of accounts receivable days and the increase in short-term borrowings are occurring simultaneously. Working capital efficiency underlying the revenue growth will therefore be a key monitoring point.

Theoretical Share Price (Reference Value)

ScenarioTheoretical Share Price
bear (Bearish)¥1,506
base (Base)¥1,598
bull (Bullish)¥1,626
Calculation AssumptionValue
Book Value per Share (BPS)¥1,195
Adjusted Forecast EPS¥249.3
Cost of Equity r9.77% (10-year government bond 2.77% + equity risk premium 6.00% + size premium 1.00%)
Persistence Factor of Residual Income ω / Explicit Forecast Period0.62 / 5 years
Assumed Payout Ratio39.7%
Forecast EPS Confidence Adjustment×1.100 (based on progress ahead of the full-year forecast)
Implied PBR / PER1.34x / 6.4x

Sensitivity: ¥1,553–¥1,645 at cost of equity ±1%; ¥1,588–¥1,613 at ω±0.1.

Notes:

  • Since progress of Net Income against the full-year forecast (49%) exceeds the standard level (25%), forecast EPS has been adjusted upward within a maximum range of +10% (because companies with progress ahead of plan tend to exceed forecasts. For businesses with strong seasonality, the adjustment may be excessive).
  • Net assets as of the quarter-end are used (there is a timing difference relative to the full-year forecast).

(Calculation model: Residual Income Model (Ohlson-type, explicit 5-year fade) / Interest rate reference month: 2026-07 / Mechanically calculated value based solely on publicly disclosed data; this is not a forecast of the market share price or a recommendation of any specific investment action, and does not forecast or guarantee the future share price.)


This report is an earnings analysis document automatically generated by AI based on XBRL earnings summary data. It does not recommend investment in any specific security. The industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the Company based on publicly disclosed earnings data. Investment decisions should be made at your own responsibility, after consulting a professional as necessary.

---End of Report---


AI Financial Analysis

Executive Summary

Itōki delivered a strong FY2026 Q1 result, with double-digit sales and net-profit growth while operating profit also increased from an already high base. Revenue rose 10.5% year on year to ¥47.2bn. Operating income increased 9.0% to ¥8.1bn, and profit attributable to owners increased 12.7% to ¥5.5bn. The operating margin was 17.1%, remaining well above the 15% excellent-profitability benchmark. Gross margin improved to 44.4% from 43.9% a year earlier, an expansion of approximately 52bp. Conversely, the operating margin declined by approximately 23bp from 17.4%, as SG&A expenses increased 13.7%, faster than revenue growth. The net margin expanded by approximately 23bp to 11.7%, supported by lower relative non-operating costs and a modest reduction in the effective tax rate to 31.3% from approximately 32.3%. The Workplace business remained the earnings core, generating ¥7.1bn of segment profit, or 87% of consolidated operating income. Equipment, Equipment & Public posted the strongest improvement, with segment profit rising 168.9% year on year to ¥1.0bn. This segment’s margin recovery was the principal contributor to the consolidated earnings growth despite modest margin dilution in the larger Workplace business. Domestic revenue increased 9.9% to ¥45.1bn and accounted for 95.5% of consolidated sales, leaving performance predominantly exposed to Japanese office, facility, and public-sector demand. Asian revenue rose 32.5% to ¥2.0bn, albeit from a comparatively small base. Q1 progress against full-year guidance is notably advanced: revenue reached 28.2% of the full-year target, while operating income and net income reached 50.6% and 49.4%, respectively. The profit progress rate is more than 25 percentage points ahead of the standard 25% Q1 pace, supporting the credibility of the unchanged forecast but also raising the importance of normal seasonal patterns and margin durability in subsequent quarters. Balance-sheet liquidity is sound, but short-term borrowings increased sharply and account collection remains a key funding and working-capital focus. The absence of reported cash-flow figures prevents confirmation that the accounting earnings increase translated into operating cash generation. The indicated full-year dividend of ¥90 per share implies a 39.7% payout ratio against forecast EPS of ¥226.68, which appears moderate on an earnings basis.

Profitability Analysis

The provided annualized DuPont analysis indicates ROE of 37.4%, comprising a 11.7% net profit margin, 1.377x asset turnover, and 2.32x financial leverage. The largest structural support for the high annualized ROE is the combination of an excellent net margin and meaningful financial leverage, rather than an exceptionally low equity base alone. Net margin improved approximately 23bp year on year, whereas the operating margin compressed approximately 23bp, indicating that below-operating-line items and taxes modestly offset the weaker operating conversion. Gross margin expanded approximately 52bp to 44.4%, implying improved product and project gross profitability or sales mix. However, SG&A rose 13.7% versus revenue growth of 10.5%, increasing the SG&A-to-sales ratio to 27.3% from 26.5%. This 77bp SG&A ratio increase absorbed the gross-margin gain and resulted in slight operating-margin compression. The Workplace business is the core business by operating-income contribution: revenue increased 5.4% to ¥36.5bn, but segment profit grew only 0.7% to ¥7.1bn, reducing its margin by approximately 90bp to 19.3%. Equipment, Equipment & Public revenue increased 33.8% to ¥10.4bn and segment profit rose from ¥0.4bn to ¥1.0bn; its margin expanded by approximately 485bp to 9.7%. Accordingly, the improvement in the smaller Equipment, Equipment & Public segment was the principal driver of consolidated profit growth. The Other segment, including IT-system-related operations, reported revenue of ¥0.5bn, broadly unchanged year on year, while segment profit declined to ¥0.03bn from ¥0.03bn. Interest coverage of 60.82x is very strong, and the 0.997 interest burden confirms that interest expense had a negligible effect on pre-tax earnings. The 0.687 tax burden is slightly below the 0.70 normal benchmark, reflecting the 31.3% effective tax rate. JGAAP goodwill was only ¥0.7bn, equal to 1.1% of equity, so goodwill amortization and impairment exposure are unlikely to be material determinants of reported profitability.

Growth Assessment

Top-line growth was broad-based across the two reportable operating segments. Workplace revenue rose ¥1.9bn year on year, while Equipment, Equipment & Public added ¥2.6bn and accounted for more than half of consolidated revenue growth. Domestic sales increased ¥4.1bn, demonstrating that the quarter’s expansion was chiefly driven by the Japanese market. Asian sales increased ¥0.5bn, providing a positive but still limited contribution to overall growth because Asia represented 4.3% of sales. Growth quality is supported by the 9.0% increase in operating income and 12.7% increase in net income, rather than being driven primarily by non-operating income. Non-operating income was only 0.5% of revenue, including ¥0.7bn of foreign-exchange gains, while net extraordinary losses were ¥0.3bn. The net extraordinary loss equaled less than 1% of net income, so recurring operating performance remains the dominant source of earnings. Full-year guidance calls for revenue of ¥167.5bn, up 9.0% year on year, and operating income of ¥16.0bn, up 16.9%. Q1 revenue progress of 28.2% is 3.2 percentage points ahead of the standard 25% pace. Q1 operating-income progress of 50.6% is 25.6 percentage points ahead of that pace, while net-income progress of 49.4% is 24.4 percentage points ahead. The substantial early profit progress suggests that sustaining Workplace margins and the turnaround in Equipment, Equipment & Public are the key determinants of the full-year outcome. The unchanged forecast leaves management’s formal outlook intact.

Financial Health

Liquidity is healthy on reported balance-sheet measures, with a current ratio of 161.9%, a quick ratio of 148.0%, and working capital of ¥33.7bn. Current assets of ¥88.1bn exceed current liabilities of ¥54.4bn by a substantial margin, and cash and deposits total ¥20.8bn. Solvency is acceptable but less conservative than the liquidity ratios imply: interest-bearing debt was ¥31.4bn, debt-to-equity was 1.32x, and debt-to-capital was 34.6%. These measures remain below the explicit warning thresholds of 2.0x for debt-to-equity and 40% for debt-to-capital. Interest coverage of 60.82x indicates that current earnings comfortably service reported interest expense. The principal financing concern is maturity concentration. Short-term debt represented 69.8% of interest-bearing debt, materially above the 40% refinancing-risk threshold, and cash covered only 0.95x of short-term debt. Short-term loans increased ¥9.1bn, or 70.6% year on year, to ¥21.9bn, while long-term loans declined ¥0.6bn to ¥9.5bn. This shift toward short-term funding heightens refinancing exposure and sensitivity to changes in bank funding conditions or short-term interest rates, even though aggregate leverage remains manageable. The quality alert is therefore material: the debt profile requires regular refinancing access rather than being fully covered by cash on hand. Receivables totaled ¥39.9bn and electronically recorded monetary claims totaled ¥9.3bn, making customer collections a significant component of current assets. Reported DSO of 77 days exceeds the 60-day warning threshold, indicating slower collection efficiency and a greater need to monitor customer credit quality, billing timing, and conversion of sales into cash. Inventories increased 15.7% year on year to ¥7.6bn, below the growth rate in receivables but above revenue growth. Goodwill was only ¥0.7bn, or 0.5% of total assets and 1.1% of equity, which limits M&A-related balance-sheet and impairment risk. Asset retirement obligations totaled ¥1.6bn, equal to approximately 2.0% of liabilities, representing a manageable but relevant long-term obligation.

Notable B/S Changes

Short-term loans: +¥9.1bn (+70.6%) to ¥21.9bn — a material shift toward short-term financing; with 69.8% of debt short term and cash/short-term debt of 0.95x, refinancing dependence has increased. Accounts receivable: +¥5.5bn (+15.9%) to ¥39.9bn — growth exceeds revenue growth and coincides with a reported 77-day DSO, requiring monitoring of collections and working-capital absorption. Electronically recorded monetary claims: +¥2.0bn (+27.5%) to ¥9.3bn — further increases the capital tied up in customer receivables. Finished goods: +¥1.0bn (+15.7%) to ¥7.6bn — inventory increased faster than revenue, making sell-through and inventory conversion important. Total equity: +¥2.6bn (+4.5%) to ¥59.2bn — supported by earnings accumulation and comprehensive income, modestly strengthening the equity buffer. Investment securities: +¥0.4bn (+5.9%) to ¥7.1bn — valuation gains contributed to the increase in accumulated other comprehensive income.

Cash Flow Quality

Cash-flow quality cannot be quantified because operating cash flow, investing cash flow, financing cash flow, capital expenditure, and free cash flow were not reported. As a result, OCF-to-net-income conversion, accruals quality, cash conversion, and free-cash-flow coverage cannot be assessed. The balance-sheet movements nevertheless identify areas requiring cash-flow verification in future disclosures. Trade receivables increased 15.9% year on year to ¥39.9bn, and electronic monetary claims increased 27.5% to ¥9.3bn, alongside the reported 77-day DSO. These movements may increase working-capital absorption unless collection timing improves. Finished goods increased 15.7% to ¥7.6bn, raw materials increased 4.1% to ¥4.8bn, and work in process increased 7.0% to ¥2.2bn. The increase in finished goods is larger than the increase in raw materials and work in process, making inventory realization and sell-through relevant to future cash conversion. Short-term borrowings increased ¥9.1bn year on year, so cash-flow analysis should determine whether financing is supporting seasonal working-capital needs, growth investment, or a more persistent funding requirement. Reported earnings are principally operating in nature: operating income was ¥8.1bn, whereas net extraordinary losses were only ¥0.3bn.

Dividend Sustainability

The company’s full-year dividend forecast is ¥90 per share, unchanged from the initial forecast. Against forecast EPS of ¥226.68, the implied dividend payout ratio is 39.7%. This is below the 60% sustainability benchmark and leaves a meaningful earnings retention buffer. Q1 EPS of ¥112.10 already equals 49.5% of forecast full-year EPS, consistent with strong early-year earnings coverage for the projected dividend. Retained earnings were ¥446.4bn? No, retained earnings were ¥44.6bn, providing a substantial accounting equity cushion relative to the projected dividend commitment. Dividend sustainability cannot be confirmed on a free-cash-flow basis because cash-flow and capital-expenditure data were not reported. The elevated share of short-term debt and slow receivable collection make operating cash conversion particularly relevant to the ultimate funding quality of shareholder distributions. No share buyback amount was reported; therefore, the analysis uses the dividend payout ratio rather than a total return ratio.

Risk Assessment

Business risks include Workplace business margin risk: the core Workplace segment generated 87% of consolidated operating income, but its segment margin declined approximately 90bp to 19.3% despite 5.4% revenue growth., Domestic-demand concentration: Japan accounted for 95.5% of Q1 sales, concentrating earnings exposure in Japanese corporate office investment, facility demand, and public-sector spending conditions., Execution risk in Equipment, Equipment & Public: segment profit rose 168.9% and margin improved approximately 485bp; sustaining this recovery is important because it drove the consolidated earnings acceleration., Manufacturing and project-delivery risk: higher finished-goods inventories and the need to maintain gross-margin gains leave the company exposed to demand forecasting, procurement costs, production efficiency, and delivery execution., Collection and customer-credit risk: annualized DSO of 77 days exceeds the 60-day warning level, increasing the risk that revenue growth does not translate promptly into cash receipts..

Financial risks include Refinancing risk: 69.8% of interest-bearing debt is short term, materially above the 40% alert threshold. Short-term loans rose 70.6% year on year to ¥21.9bn, increasing reliance on continued access to short-term bank financing., Short-term liquidity coverage risk: cash and deposits cover only 0.95x of short-term debt, so short-term borrowings are not fully cash-backed despite healthy current and quick ratios., Working-capital funding risk: receivables, electronic monetary claims, and inventories have increased, while short-term borrowing has also risen materially., Interest-rate risk: the current 60.82x interest coverage is strong, but the high short-term debt proportion makes financing costs more sensitive to refinancing rates..

Key concerns include Monitor whether Workplace margin pressure reflects temporary cost growth or a more durable reduction in operating leverage., Monitor the conversion of the unusually strong 50.6% Q1 operating-profit progress into full-year earnings, especially as the company has retained its forecast., Monitor receivable days, collection performance, and the relationship between working-capital growth and operating cash flow., Monitor the maturity structure and reasons for the ¥9.1bn year-on-year increase in short-term loans..

Investment Implications

Key takeaways include Q1 earnings were strong, with revenue up 10.5%, operating income up 9.0%, and net income up 12.7%., Profitability remains high, with a 17.1% operating margin, 11.7% net margin, and 37.4% annualized ROE., The core Workplace business remains highly profitable but experienced margin compression, whereas Equipment, Equipment & Public delivered the largest incremental profit improvement., Full-year guidance appears conservatively positioned relative to Q1 progress, with operating income already at 50.6% of the annual target., Liquidity ratios are healthy, but the 69.8% short-term debt ratio and 77-day DSO are the principal balance-sheet and cash-conversion issues..

Metrics to watch include Workplace segment margin and SG&A-to-sales ratio, Equipment, Equipment & Public segment revenue growth and margin sustainability, Operating-income progress versus the ¥16.0bn full-year forecast, Annualized DSO and the balance of trade receivables plus electronic monetary claims, Short-term debt ratio, cash-to-short-term-debt coverage, and refinancing terms, Operating cash flow and free cash flow when reported, Finished-goods inventory growth relative to sales.

Regarding relative positioning, Itōki’s reported profitability is strong for a manufacturing and workplace-solutions company, with operating and net margins above the stated excellent benchmarks and robust interest coverage. Its balance sheet is liquid and goodwill exposure is minimal, but its funding profile is less conservative than its headline liquidity ratios suggest because debt is concentrated in short-term borrowings and collection efficiency is weak versus the stated DSO benchmark.