Quick View
| Metric | This Period | Prior Year Period | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ¥137.6B | ¥110.2B | +24.8% |
| Operating Income | ¥92.7B | ¥69.8B | +32.9% |
| Ordinary Income | ¥86.9B | ¥59.3B | +46.5% |
| Net Income | ¥62.1B | ¥41.4B | +50.0% |
| ROE | 7.4% | 5.1% | - |
Executive Summary
FY2026 Q1 results delivered significant top-line and bottom-line growth: Revenue ¥137.6B (vs. prior year +¥27.4B +24.8%), Operating Income ¥92.7B (vs. prior year +¥22.9B +32.9%), Ordinary Income ¥86.9B (vs. prior year +¥27.6B +46.5%), and Quarterly Net Income attributable to owners of the parent ¥62.1B (vs. prior year +¥20.7B +50.0%). Gross profit margin improved to 85.9% (up +3.7pt from 82.2% a year ago) and operating margin improved to 67.4% (up +4.1pt from 63.3%), reflecting a marked improvement in profitability driven by the composition of higher-margin transactions in the core operating lease business. Progress against the full-year plan stands at Revenue 28.1%, Operating Income 39.3%, Ordinary Income 44.2%, and Net Income 47.8%, substantially ahead of the standard progress rate (25%) on the profit side.
Drivers of Performance
[Revenue] Revenue of ¥137.6B (YoY +24.8%) was driven by the operating lease business (segment disclosure omitted due to limited materiality). Cost of sales was contained at ¥19.4B (slightly down from ¥19.6B a year ago), resulting in gross profit of ¥118.1B (from ¥90.6B a year ago, +30.3%), outpacing revenue growth. Gross profit margin improved to 85.9% (up +3.7pt from 82.2%), reflecting clearer effects from improved deal composition quality and better procurement terms.
[Profitability] SG&A amounted to ¥25.4B (up +21.5% from ¥20.9B a year ago) as expenses rose with revenue, but the SG&A ratio improved to 18.5% (from 18.9%, -0.4pt), indicating revenue growth absorbed expense increases and positive operating leverage emerged. Operating Income was ¥92.7B (from ¥69.8B, +32.9%), and operating margin rose to 67.4% (from 63.3%, +4.1pt), showing significant profitability improvement. Non-operating items comprised non-operating income ¥8.9B (including interest income ¥1.1B and foreign exchange gains ¥2.4B) versus non-operating expenses ¥14.8B (including interest expense ¥6.7B, foreign exchange losses ¥4.5B, and fees paid ¥3.7B), resulting in net non-operating loss of -¥5.9B. Consequently, Ordinary Income was ¥86.9B (vs. ¥59.3B a year ago, +46.5%). Extraordinary losses were limited to valuation losses on investment securities of ¥0.7B. After corporate taxes of ¥24.8B (effective tax rate 28.5%) and ¥0.4B attributable to non-controlling interests, Quarterly Net Income attributable to owners of the parent was ¥62.1B (vs. ¥41.4B a year ago, +50.0%), achieving both revenue and profit growth.
Key Financial Metrics
[Profitability] Gross profit margin was 85.9% (up +3.7pt from 82.2% a year ago), operating margin 67.4% (up +4.1pt from 63.3%), and net margin 45.1% (up +7.5pt from 37.6%), showing notable margin expansion across all levels. ROE was 7.4% (up +2.3pt from 5.1%), indicating margin expansion boosted returns on equity. [Cash Quality] Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) was 258 days, Days Inventory Outstanding (DIO) was 1,154 days reflecting industry characteristics and elongated cycles, and Cash Conversion Cycle (CCC) was 1,403 days. Heavy working capital is constraining capital efficiency. [Investment Efficiency] Total asset turnover was 0.055x (annualized 0.22x), remaining low, and ROIC (Operating Income × (1 − effective tax rate) / Invested Capital) was 4.5%, not sufficiently above the cost of capital. [Balance Sheet Strength] Equity Ratio was 33.6% (up +6.2pt from 27.4% a year ago), Current Ratio 153.4% and Quick Ratio 149.3%, indicating healthy short-term liquidity. Interest-bearing debt totaled ¥1,364.7B (Short-term borrowings ¥1,220.9B, Long-term borrowings ¥56.3B, Bonds ¥46.6B, Bonds maturing within one year ¥41.0B), producing a Debt/Equity ratio of 177.1%. Interest coverage (Operating Income / Interest Paid) was 13.86x, evidencing capacity to bear interest costs, but short-term borrowings account for 89.5% of interest-bearing debt, short-term debt ratio is 95.6%, and Cash / Short-term Debt ratio is 0.52x, indicating high reliance on refinancing.
Cash Flow Analysis
Non-operating income of ¥8.9B (interest income ¥1.1B, FX gains ¥2.4B, etc.) was outweighed by non-operating expenses of ¥14.8B (interest expense ¥6.7B, FX losses ¥4.5B, fees paid ¥3.7B, etc.), producing net non-operating -¥5.9B and reducing income from operating profit. DSO 258 days, DIO 1,154 days, and CCC 1,403 days indicate lengthening deal structuring and collection cycles, causing substantial working capital absorption. Short-term borrowings decreased 22.4% from ¥1,573.4B a year ago to ¥1,220.9B, partially compressing the short-term composition of interest-bearing debt and improving liquidity resilience. Contract liabilities (advance receipts) fell from ¥198.5B a year ago to ¥137.4B (-30.9%), as existing projects progressed; monitoring new order trends will be key to assessing future revenue sustainability.
Quality of Earnings
Operating Income ¥92.7B less net non-operating -¥5.9B yields Ordinary Income ¥86.9B. Non-operating income ¥8.9B represents 6.5% of revenue, but non-operating expenses ¥14.8B (10.8% of revenue) outweigh it, indicating core operating activities are the primary profit source. Extraordinary loss ¥0.7B (valuation loss on investment securities) is minor and earnings derive from recurring business activities. The gap from Ordinary Income ¥86.9B to Quarterly Net Income attributable to owners of the parent ¥62.1B (a -28.5% divergence) is mainly due to corporate taxes ¥24.8B (effective tax rate 28.5%) and ¥0.4B attributable to non-controlling interests; non-recurring factors are limited. Comprehensive income ¥64.0B exceeded net income ¥62.1B by ¥1.9B, reflecting foreign currency translation adjustments of ¥3.3B offset by valuation differences on securities of -¥1.4B. The small difference between net income and comprehensive income indicates limited distortion in earnings quality from valuation gains/losses.
Earnings Forecasts & Guidance
Full-year plan forecasts Revenue ¥489.6B (YoY +26.4%), Operating Income ¥235.8B (YoY +24.9%), Ordinary Income ¥196.7B (YoY +18.3%), Net Income attributable to owners of the parent ¥130.0B, and EPS ¥214.72. Q1 progress rates versus the full year are Revenue 28.1% (standard 25% +3.1pt), Operating Income 39.3% (+14.3pt), Ordinary Income 44.2% (+19.2pt), and Net Income 47.8% (+22.8pt), substantially ahead of standard progress on profitability. The front-loaded profit progress may indicate concentration of higher-margin deals in Q1 or expense timing differences, suggesting upside to the full-year plan; however, the build-up of projects in H2 and working capital trends (re-expansion of contract liabilities) are key to sustainability. No revisions to earnings or dividend forecasts were made in Q1.
Shareholder Returns
Q1 EPS was ¥101.86 (vs. ¥66.59 a year ago, +53.0%). Full-year dividend forecast is ¥54.00 (prior year actual ¥43.00), implying a payout ratio of approximately 25.1% against full-year EPS forecast ¥214.72, a sustainable level. Retained earnings at Q1-end were ¥412.6B (up +9.3% from ¥377.6B a year ago), and cash and deposits were ¥638.4B, indicating sufficient dividend funding. With interest coverage 13.86x and net margin 45.1%, the high profitability supports dividend stability. No share buyback disclosure; shareholder returns are via dividends only.
Risk Factors
-
Refinancing risk: Short-term borrowings ¥1,220.9B account for 89.5% of interest-bearing debt, short-term debt ratio 95.6%, and Cash / Short-term Debt ratio 0.52x, indicating high short-term funding dependence. Deterioration in financial conditions or credit tightening could make refinancing difficult and impact liquidity.
-
Interest rate risk: Interest-bearing debt ¥1,364.7B has interest payments of ¥6.7B (annualized 1.96%), currently modest, but high reliance on short-term borrowings means rising rates could increase interest expense and compress Ordinary Income via higher non-operating expenses. Interest coverage 13.86x indicates current resilience, but if margin improvements stall, interest burden would become relatively heavier.
-
Working capital efficiency and new order risk: DSO 258 days, DIO 1,154 days, CCC 1,403 days signal significant working capital absorption, constraining cash generation. Contract liabilities decreased -30.9% YoY; while existing projects have progressed, if replenishment of new orders slows, future revenue sustainability could be impacted. Intensifying competition in deal structuring or changes to tax/accounting rules could reduce the attractiveness of lease schemes.
Industry Benchmark (Reference, Company Data)
Profitability & Returns
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | 67.4% | – | – |
| Net Margin | 45.1% | – | – |
Industry median data are limited, so relative comparison is difficult, but operating margin 67.4% and net margin 45.1% are high on an absolute basis.
Growth & Capital Efficiency
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue Growth (YoY) | 24.8% | – | – |
Revenue growth 24.8% is high on an absolute basis; lack of industry median data limits relative comparison.
※ Source: Company compilation
Key Takeaways from the Results
-
Achieved significant revenue and profit growth: Revenue +24.8%, Operating Income +32.9%, Net Income +50.0%, with gross profit margin +3.7pt, operating margin +4.1pt, and net margin +7.5pt, demonstrating marked improvement in profitability at all stages. Full-year profit progress of 39–48% significantly exceeds standard, indicating upside potential to the full-year plan. High-margin deal composition in the operating lease business drove profitability improvement; if deal quality improvement continues, structural margin gains may be expected.
-
High refinancing dependence: Short-term borrowings ¥1,220.9B (89.5% of interest-bearing debt), short-term debt ratio 95.6%, and Cash / Short-term Debt ratio 0.52x indicate high refinancing reliance; rising rates could increase interest expense and pressure non-operating results. Contract liabilities fell -30.9% YoY, so monitoring new order replenishment is necessary as a leading indicator of revenue sustainability. DSO 258 days, DIO 1,154 days, and CCC 1,403 days mean improving working capital efficiency is a key challenge for raising capital returns (ROIC 4.5%) and strengthening financial health.
This report is an earnings analysis document automatically generated by AI analyzing XBRL financial statement data. It does not constitute a recommendation to invest in any specific security. Industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the firm based on public financial statements. Investment decisions are your own responsibility; consult a professional advisor as necessary.
AI Financial Analysis
Executive Summary
FY2026 Q1 was a strong earnings quarter for Japan Investment Adviser, with revenue growth translating into faster operating and net-profit growth. Revenue increased 24.8% year on year to ¥13.76bn. Operating income rose 32.9% to ¥9.27bn. Ordinary income increased 46.5% to ¥8.69bn. Profit attributable to owners of parent grew 53.0% to ¥6.17bn, or ¥101.86 per share. Gross profit margin expanded by 370bp year on year to 85.9%, reflecting broadly stable cost of sales despite higher revenue. Operating margin expanded by 410bp to 67.4%, as SG&A rose 21.7%, slower than revenue growth. Net profit margin rose by 820bp to 44.8%, aided by the stronger operating result and the absence of the prior-year extraordinary investment-securities valuation loss. The annualized DuPont ROE was 29.3%, combining a 44.8% net margin, 0.220x asset turnover and 2.98x financial leverage. This is an exceptionally high return profile, although the leverage component remains material to the outcome. The operating lease business remains the core business, while the other four businesses are not individually material under the company’s segment disclosure. Net non-operating expense was ¥0.58bn, primarily reflecting ¥0.67bn of interest expense and ¥0.40bn of equity-method affiliate losses, partly offset by ¥0.24bn of FX gains and ¥0.11bn of interest income. Interest coverage remained solid at 13.86x, but the financing structure is heavily short-term, with 95.6% of interest-bearing debt classified as short-term. The balance sheet contracted substantially year on year, led by lower short-term borrowings and contract liabilities, while equity increased to ¥84.07bn. Management retained its full-year guidance, and Q1 progress is ahead of a linear quarterly run rate for operating income, ordinary income and net income. The principal forward-looking issue is whether the company can sustain high-margin lease transactions while refinancing substantial short-term funding and converting a long working-capital cycle into cash.
Profitability Analysis
Annualized DuPont ROE is 29.3%, decomposed into a 44.8% net profit margin, 0.220x asset turnover and 2.98x financial leverage. The dominant driver of the high ROE is the exceptionally high margin profile, with leverage providing a meaningful additional uplift. Gross profit margin improved to 85.9% from 82.2% in the prior-year quarter, a 370bp expansion. Operating margin rose to 67.4% from 63.3%, a 410bp improvement, because revenue grew 24.8% while SG&A increased 21.7% to ¥2.54bn. This positive operating leverage indicates that incremental revenue was converted efficiently into operating income. Operating income growth of 32.9% exceeded revenue growth, supporting the margin expansion. Ordinary income growth of 46.5% exceeded operating-income growth despite net non-operating expenses, principally because the prior-year period included an extraordinary loss and a less favorable foreign-exchange result. The five-factor DuPont tax burden was 0.710, consistent with the 28.5% effective tax rate. The interest burden was 0.937, indicating that interest costs reduced EBIT by 6.3% before tax; this remains manageable but is relevant given the debt-funded operating model. Annualized asset turnover of 0.220x is modest, consistent with a balance-sheet-intensive operating lease model. The 2.98x financial-leverage factor is the main structural constraint on the return profile’s resilience: profitability would be more sensitive to asset realization, funding availability and financing costs than a lower-leverage service business. No current-period extraordinary item is reflected between ordinary income and profit before tax, which supports the comparability of the pre-tax result.
Growth Assessment
Growth was broad-based at the consolidated level, with revenue up ¥2.73bn year on year and operating income up ¥2.29bn. Gross profit increased 30.3% to ¥11.81bn, outpacing revenue and demonstrating improved transaction profitability. Profit attributable to owners increased by ¥2.14bn, or 53.0%, faster than both sales and operating income. The core operating lease business is the principal source of group earnings, although the company does not disclose numerical revenue or operating-income details for the smaller businesses. Full-year revenue guidance is ¥48.96bn, implying Q1 progress of 28.1%, 3.1 percentage points ahead of the standard 25% quarterly pace. Full-year operating-income guidance is ¥23.58bn, with Q1 progress of 39.3%, 14.3 percentage points ahead of the standard pace. Ordinary-income progress is 44.2% against full-year guidance of ¥19.67bn, 19.2 percentage points ahead of the standard pace. Profit attributable to owners has reached 47.4% of the ¥13.00bn full-year forecast, 22.4 percentage points ahead of a linear run rate. The early profit progress may reflect the timing of lease transactions, foreign-exchange gains and the absence of the prior-year extraordinary loss, so it should not automatically be extrapolated into the remaining quarters. Retained full-year guidance nevertheless suggests management has not yet incorporated a full-year uplift from the strong first-quarter result. Revenue sustainability depends on continued origination and execution of operating lease transactions, as well as stable funding conditions. The ¥0.40bn equity-method loss is a headwind to ordinary income and illustrates that affiliate-related performance can introduce volatility outside core operating profit.
Financial Health
Liquidity appears adequate on headline measures, with a current ratio of 153.4% and a quick ratio of 149.3%. Current assets of ¥231.16bn exceeded current liabilities of ¥150.67bn by ¥80.49bn. Cash and deposits totaled ¥63.84bn, equivalent to 52% of short-term loans of ¥122.09bn. The maturity profile is the key balance-sheet risk: short-term loans account for 95.6% of interest-bearing debt, and short-term loans alone represent 48.8% of total assets. This creates a material refinancing requirement even though the current ratio is above 1.0x. Total interest-bearing debt was ¥127.72bn, comprising ¥122.09bn of short-term loans and ¥5.63bn of long-term loans; bonds and current portions of bonds also form part of the reported funding structure. Debt-to-equity was 1.98x, close to the 2.0x aggressive-leverage threshold, while debt-to-capital was 60.3%, at the level generally regarded as a credit concern. Interest coverage of 13.86x provides a meaningful earnings buffer against current interest costs. Total equity increased ¥3.61bn year on year to ¥84.07bn, and the capital adequacy ratio improved to 30.8% from 25.0%. Investment securities declined ¥3.68bn, or 26.8%, to ¥10.04bn, reducing exposure to that asset class but also shrinking a potential liquidity reserve. Accounts payable declined ¥0.14bn, or 74.5%, to ¥0.05bn; the absolute amount is small and does not materially alter liquidity. Contract liabilities declined ¥61.10bn, or 30.8%, to ¥137.39bn, contributing to the lower current-liability base but also indicating a lower balance of customer advances or contractual funding. Deferred tax assets fell ¥21.16bn, or 27.9%, to ¥54.58bn, reducing the share of assets dependent on future taxable income. No off-balance-sheet obligations are identified in the provided disclosures.
Notable B/S Changes
Total assets: -¥432.22bn (-14.7%) to ¥2,504.10bn - balance-sheet contraction was substantial, requiring monitoring of the mix between transaction assets, customer advances and funding. Short-term loans: -¥352.46bn (-22.4%) to ¥1,220.89bn - funding reliance declined in absolute terms, but short-term loans remain 48.8% of total assets and dominate the debt maturity profile. Contract liabilities: -¥61.10bn (-30.8%) to ¥137.39bn - lower customer advances or contractual balances reduced current liabilities and may affect transaction funding dynamics. Investment securities: -¥36.82bn (-26.8%) to ¥100.39bn - lower investment exposure reduces securities-market exposure but also decreases a potential liquidity reserve. Deferred tax assets: -¥21.16bn (-27.9%) to ¥54.58bn - the reduction lowers assets dependent on future taxable income. Accounts payable: -¥1.37bn (-74.5%) to ¥0.47bn - the percentage decline is large but the absolute balance is immaterial to overall liquidity.
Cash Flow Quality
The reported cash-conversion-cycle alerts warrant attention in this balance-sheet-intensive business model. Receivable days of 64 exceed the 60-day alert threshold, indicating that collections require monitoring as revenue expands. Inventory days of 288 are substantially above both the 90-day and 60-day alert thresholds. The resulting 351-day cash conversion cycle is well above the 120-day benchmark and indicates that a significant amount of capital is tied up for an extended period before cash realization. For an operating lease-centered business, elevated inventory-related balances can be linked to transaction assets and lease arrangements, but the duration still raises execution, residual-value and funding requirements. Inventories were broadly stable year on year at ¥61.47bn, while revenue increased 24.8%, which is directionally more favorable than an inventory build-out. Trade receivables increased 13.5% to ¥97.20bn, slower than revenue growth, although the reported DSO remains elevated. Cash and deposits decreased only ¥0.99bn year on year to ¥63.84bn despite the ¥35.25bn reduction in short-term loans, indicating that the liability reduction was accompanied by substantial changes elsewhere in working capital and the asset base. Operating cash flow, free cash flow, capital expenditure and OCF-to-net-income conversion are not reported in the supplied financial data; therefore, cash earnings conversion and free-cash-flow coverage cannot be quantified. The long cash conversion cycle and concentrated short-term borrowing make demonstrated cash realization more important than accounting earnings alone.
Dividend Sustainability
The full-year dividend forecast is ¥108.00 per share, with no revision announced. Based on full-year EPS guidance of ¥214.72, the implied dividend payout ratio is 50.3%. This is within the conventional 30-60% range generally viewed as sustainable, assuming delivery of the full-year earnings forecast. Q1 EPS of ¥101.86 represents 47.4% of forecast full-year EPS, providing an initially strong earnings base for the annual dividend target. Retained earnings totaled ¥412.58bn, providing substantial accounting reserves relative to the forecast dividend obligation. Dividend capacity should nevertheless be assessed alongside the funding model rather than net income alone, because the company carries ¥122.09bn of short-term loans and has a 351-day cash conversion cycle. No share buyback information is provided; accordingly, the analysis uses the dividend payout ratio rather than a total return ratio. The unchanged dividend forecast is consistent with management confidence, but sustained coverage will depend on cash realization from lease-related transactions and continued refinancing access.
Risk Assessment
Business risks include Operating lease transaction and asset-realization risk: the core business is balance-sheet intensive, and a 288-day inventory period indicates extended capital commitment before realization., Customer collection and counterparty risk: DSO of 64 days exceeds the 60-day alert threshold, making receivable discipline important as revenue expands., Affiliate-performance risk: ¥0.40bn of equity-method losses reduced ordinary income in Q1, creating non-core earnings volatility., Foreign-exchange risk: Q1 included ¥0.24bn of FX gains, so subsequent currency movements could reduce ordinary-income support..
Financial risks include Refinancing risk is high: 95.6% of interest-bearing debt is short-term, requiring continued lender and capital-market access., Debt-to-capital of 60.3% is at a credit-risk threshold, while debt-to-equity of 1.98x leaves limited headroom before reaching the aggressive 2.0x benchmark., Cash covers only 0.52x of short-term loans, so liquidity depends on asset turnover, collections and refinancing rather than cash balances alone., Interest-rate risk is material because ¥0.67bn of Q1 interest expense is meaningful, even though interest coverage remains a solid 13.86x..
Key concerns include Highest priority: the combination of a 351-day cash conversion cycle and 96% short-term debt concentration could amplify pressure if asset sales, lease transactions or collections slow., High priority: the strong Q1 profit progress may be partly timing-related, while full-year guidance remains unchanged; quarterly profit conversion should be monitored rather than annualizing Q1 results., Moderate priority: the decline in contract liabilities of ¥61.10bn year on year changes the current-liability and funding mix and may affect future transaction visibility., Moderate priority: sustained operating-margin expansion depends on preserving high transaction margins while controlling SG&A as the business scales..
Investment Implications
Key takeaways include Revenue grew 24.8%, while operating income and profit attributable to owners grew 32.9% and 53.0%, respectively, demonstrating strong first-quarter operating leverage., Operating margin expanded 410bp to 67.4% and net margin expanded 820bp to 44.8%., Annualized ROE of 29.3% is highly attractive, but it is supported by 2.98x financial leverage., Q1 progress versus full-year guidance is ahead of a linear pace: 39.3% for operating income and 47.4% for profit attributable to owners., The principal analytical trade-off is strong profitability versus a funding structure dominated by short-term debt and a long working-capital cycle..
Metrics to watch include Short-term debt ratio and cash-to-short-term-debt coverage, Interest expense and interest coverage, Inventory days, DSO and the cash conversion cycle, Contract liabilities and lease-transaction origination or realization trends, Operating margin durability and SG&A growth relative to revenue, Equity-method affiliate income or losses and FX gains/losses, Progress against the ¥48.96bn revenue, ¥23.58bn operating-income and ¥13.00bn profit-attributable full-year forecasts.
Regarding relative positioning, The company exhibits a substantially higher margin and annualized ROE profile than typical diversified financial-service businesses, supported by a specialized operating lease model. Its balance-sheet profile is also more funding-sensitive than an asset-light advisory business, with the short-term debt concentration and extended cash conversion cycle representing the central relative risk.