Quick View
| Metric | Current Period | Same Period of Previous Year | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ¥817.2B | ¥803.5B | +1.7% |
| Operating Income | ¥63.5B | ¥69.7B | −8.9% |
| Ordinary Income | ¥61.8B | ¥63.0B | −1.9% |
| Net Income | ¥26.8B | ¥38.5B | −30.3% |
| ROE | 0.8% | 1.1% | - |
Executive Summary
The Q1 of the fiscal year ending December 2026 was characterized by higher revenue but lower earnings, as the Company was unable to convert revenue growth into profit growth. Although Revenue increased to ¥817.2B (+1.7% YoY), Operating Income declined significantly to ¥63.5B (-8.9%), Ordinary Income to ¥61.8B (-1.9%), and Net Income attributable to owners of the parent to ¥15.6B (-47.1%). The primary factors behind the substantial decline in net income were lower revenue and earnings in the core Carbon Black Business, as well as an increase in the corporate income tax burden.
Factors Affecting Business Performance
【Revenue】Revenue increased 1.7% YoY to ¥817.2B. By segment, the Fine Carbon Business (¥164.4B, +13.2%) and the Smelting & Lining Business (¥142.1B, +8.9%) drove revenue growth, while the core Carbon Black Business (¥387.3B, -0.5%) and Graphite Electrode Business (¥78.5B, -16.4%) recorded revenue declines, restraining overall growth. The Carbon Black Business is the largest segment, accounting for 47.4% of the revenue mix, and its slight decline has slowed the Company-wide revenue growth rate.
【Profit and Loss】Operating Income declined 8.9% YoY to ¥63.5B. The gross profit margin was nearly flat at 24.9% (24.7% in the previous period), but SG&A expenses increased to ¥139.7B (¥129.0B in the previous period), causing the SG&A ratio to rise to 17.1% (16.1% in the previous period), which was a factor behind the decline in the profit margin. By segment, Operating Income in the Carbon Black Business fell sharply to ¥32.4B (-28.4%), making it the primary driver of the Company-wide decline in Operating Income. Although the Fine Carbon Business recorded higher revenue, Operating Income declined to ¥22.6B (-19.9%), indicating challenges in managing prices, costs, and product mix. Meanwhile, the Graphite Electrode Business turned profitable, improving from an Operating Loss of ¥7.3B in the same period of the previous year to a profit of ¥2.5B. Ordinary Income declined to ¥61.8B (-1.9%), with the decrease narrowing due to non-operating income, including foreign exchange gains of ¥6.1B. However, corporate income taxes and other taxes were substantial at ¥35.1B, resulting in an effective tax rate of 56.6% against Profit Before Tax of ¥61.9B. This high tax burden caused Net Income attributable to owners of the parent to fall significantly to ¥15.6B (-47.1%). In conclusion, the Company recorded higher revenue but lower earnings.
Segment Analysis
Of the six segments, four businesses—the Fine Carbon Business, Smelting & Lining Business, Industrial Furnaces and Related Products Business, and Other Businesses—recorded revenue growth, while the Carbon Black Business and Graphite Electrode Business recorded revenue declines. In terms of profitability, both leading businesses—the Carbon Black Business (¥32.4B, -28.4%) and Fine Carbon Business (¥22.6B, -19.9%)—recorded lower earnings despite the respective revenue trends, thereby weighing on Company-wide profit. The Graphite Electrode Business improved to Operating Income of ¥2.5B despite declining revenue, compared with a loss of ¥7.3B in the same period of the previous year, and can be viewed as being in the process of recovering from the demand cycle. The Smelting & Lining Business recorded a substantial increase in Operating Income to ¥6.6B (+311.2%), although its profit margin remained below the Company-wide average at 4.6%.
Key Financial Indicators
【Profitability】The Operating Margin was 7.8%, down from 8.7% in the same period of the previous year (69.7/803.5B), and can be explained by the structure in which the SG&A ratio of 17.1% is deducted from the gross profit margin of 24.9%. The Net Income attributable to owners of the parent margin remained at 1.9%, with the high effective tax rate of 56.6% significantly pressuring profitability.【Cash Quality】Cash and deposits were ¥862.9B, and short-term liquidity was sound, with a current ratio of 266.2% against current liabilities of ¥960.1B. However, the substantial balances of accounts receivable of ¥647.7B and inventories of ¥293.5B (the inventory composition includes work-in-process of ¥349.9B) suggest that funds are tied up in working capital.【Investment Efficiency】ROE was low at 0.8%, affected by both the decline in the net profit margin and asset efficiency. The Equity Ratio was high at 53.4%, indicating sound financial strength, but there is room for improvement in terms of capital efficiency.【Financial Soundness】Based on an Equity Ratio of 53.4% and a funding structure consisting of long-term borrowings of ¥642.0B and bonds of ¥900.0B, the Company’s liabilities are weighted toward long-term financing, indicating a stable financial foundation.
Cash Flow Analysis
As detailed disclosure of the cash flow statement is not available for this financial reporting period, fund movements are analyzed based on changes in the balance sheet. Cash and deposits were ¥862.9B, a decrease of ¥38.7B from ¥901.6B at the end of the same period of the previous year. Total assets were ¥6576.5B, down from ¥6640.3B at the end of the same period of the previous year, indicating asset compression. In terms of working capital composition, accounts receivable of ¥647.7B and inventories equivalent to ¥960.1B (raw materials of ¥316.6B, work-in-process of ¥349.9B, and finished products of ¥293.5B) have accumulated, while the difference from accounts payable of ¥214.1B is substantial. Accordingly, cash conversion may not be progressing in line with the increase in revenue, and it is observed that revenue growth has not translated directly into an increase in cash on hand. Interest-bearing debt consists of long-term borrowings of ¥642.0B, bonds of ¥900.0B, and bonds due within one year of ¥100.0B, indicating stable funding through long-term financing.
Quality of Earnings
The substantial divergence between Ordinary Income and Net Income attributable to owners of the parent makes the impact of the tax burden important in evaluating earnings quality. Corporate income taxes and other taxes of ¥35.1B were recorded against Profit Before Tax of ¥61.9B, resulting in an effective tax rate of 56.6%, above the normal level. Consequently, while Ordinary Income declined only slightly by -1.9% YoY, Net Income attributable to owners of the parent deteriorated significantly by -47.1%, creating a substantial divergence between performance at the ordinary income level and final earnings. Foreign exchange gains of ¥6.1B were the largest component of non-operating income of ¥13.9B, including a variable factor that cannot readily be considered recurring earnings power. Extraordinary income was ¥0.4B and extraordinary losses were ¥0.3B, resulting in only a minor net amount and a limited impact on Profit Before Tax. Comprehensive Income was ¥15.7B, approximately the same level as Net Income attributable to owners of the parent of ¥15.6B. However, foreign currency translation adjustments were a substantial negative factor at -¥18.9B, and the fact that the valuation of overseas assets weighed on Comprehensive Income warrants attention.
Earnings Forecast and Guidance
The full-year Company forecast is Revenue of ¥3700.0B (+14.6% YoY), Operating Income of ¥280.0B (+8.3%), and Ordinary Income of ¥260.0B (-1.2%). Both the earnings forecast and the dividend forecast were revised during the current quarter. Progress toward the full-year forecast in Q1 was 22.1% for Revenue, 22.7% for Operating Income, and 23.8% for Ordinary Income, slightly below the standard 25% level. Progress toward the full-year forecast of ¥120.0B for Net Income attributable to owners of the parent was significantly lower at 13.0%, making profit recovery in the second half, particularly normalization of the currently high tax burden, an important key to achieving the full-year target.
Shareholder Returns
The full-year dividend forecast is ¥40.00 per share. Based on the full-year forecast of ¥120.0B for profit attributable to owners of the parent and the weighted-average number of shares outstanding during the period after deducting treasury shares of 213,506 thousand shares, total annual dividends are calculated at approximately ¥85.4B, resulting in a Payout Ratio of approximately 71.2%. The previous year’s actual dividend was ¥15 per share, and the full-year forecast is planned at a level substantially above this amount. However, progress toward Q1 Net Income attributable to owners of the parent remained at 13.0%, and achievement of the dividend plan will depend on progress toward full-year earnings and trends in the tax burden.
Risk Factors
-
Declining profitability in the core business: The Carbon Black Business recorded a substantial decline in Operating Income to ¥32.4B (-28.4% YoY), against Revenue of ¥387.3B (-0.5% YoY). As the business represents the largest component of Company-wide profit, deterioration in its profitability would have a significant impact on overall performance.
-
Downside risk to net income from the high effective tax rate: Corporate income taxes and other taxes of ¥35.1B were recorded against Profit Before Tax of ¥61.9B, resulting in an effective tax rate of 56.6%. Consequently, compared with the decline in Ordinary Income of -1.9%, the decline in Net Income attributable to owners of the parent expanded substantially to -47.1%, making normalization of the tax burden a key focus going forward.
-
Working capital tied up: The substantial balances of accounts receivable of ¥647.7B and inventories equivalent to ¥960.1B (the total of raw materials, work-in-process, and finished products) indicate that funds are tied up in working capital relative to accounts payable of ¥214.1B. This could also lead to inventory valuation risk when demand fluctuates.
Industry Benchmark (For Reference; Compiled by the Company)
Industry Benchmark (manufacturing)
Profitability and Returns
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | 7.8% | 7.2% (3.2%–12.5%) | +0.6pt |
| Net Profit Margin | 3.3% | 5.9% (2.9%–12.5%) | −2.6pt |
The Operating Margin is slightly above the industry median, while the Net Profit Margin is below the industry median, partly due to the impact of the tax burden.
Growth and Capital Efficiency
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue Growth Rate (YoY) | 1.7% | 5.6% (1.1%–13.9%) | −3.9pt |
The Revenue Growth Rate is below the industry median, placing the Company relatively low within the industry in terms of growth.
※Source: Compiled by the Company
Key Takeaways from the Financial Results
-
Despite higher revenue, both Operating Income and Net Income attributable to owners of the parent declined, indicating that earnings momentum as of Q1 was weaker than in the same period of the previous year. The structural issue that revenue growth has not translated into profit growth warrants attention.
-
The Graphite Electrode Business turned profitable, improving from an Operating Loss of ¥7.3B in the same period of the previous year to a profit of ¥2.5B, highlighting divergent performance across businesses. Meanwhile, declines in the two core businesses—the Carbon Black Business and Fine Carbon Business—weighed on Company-wide profit.
-
Progress toward the full-year forecast for profit attributable to owners of the parent was 13.0%, substantially below the standard 25% level. In light of the latest earnings forecast revision, trends in the effective tax rate and the pace of profit recovery in the second half will be important factors in assessing achievement of the full-year plan.
Theoretical Share Price (Reference Value)
| Scenario | Theoretical Share Price |
|---|---|
| bear (bearish) | ¥1,394 |
| base (base case) | ¥1,412 |
| bull (bullish) | ¥1,425 |
| Valuation Assumption | Value |
|---|---|
| Book Value per Share (BPS) | ¥1,645 |
| Adjusted Forecast EPS | ¥65.5 |
| Cost of Equity r | 9.27% (10-year Japanese Government Bond 2.77% + Equity Risk Premium 6.00% + Size Premium 0.50%) |
| Persistence Coefficient of Residual Income ω / Explicit Forecast Period | 0.62 / 5 years |
| Assumed Payout Ratio | 68.2% |
| Forecast EPS Confidence Adjustment | ×1.117 (based on the track record of industry peers in achieving guidance) |
| Implied PBR / PER | 0.86x / 21.6x |
Sensitivity: ¥1,374–¥1,451 at ±1% for the Cost of Equity, and ¥1,404–¥1,417 at ±0.1 for ω.
Notes:
- Net Income is significantly compressed relative to Operating Income due to the tax burden, acquisition-related expenses, and non-controlling interests, among other factors (Net Income ÷ Operating Income 43%). This value reflects that compression at face value; if the factors are temporary, underlying earnings power may be higher.
- Because forecast ROE is below the Cost of Equity, the theoretical value is below Book Value per Share.
- Net assets at the end of the quarter are used (there is a timing difference from the full-year forecast).
- Because net assets include non-controlling interests, the theoretical value may be calculated at a slightly higher level.
(Model: Residual Income Model (Ohlson-type, explicit 5-year fade) / Interest Rate Reference Month: 2026-07 / This is a mechanically calculated value based solely on publicly disclosed data; it is not a forecast of the market share price or a recommendation of any specific investment action, and does not forecast or guarantee future share prices.)
This report is an earnings analysis document automatically generated by AI based on XBRL earnings release data. It does not recommend investment in any specific security. The industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the Company based on publicly disclosed earnings data. Investment decisions should be made at your own responsibility, after consulting with a professional as necessary.
---End of Report---
AI Financial Analysis
Executive Summary
FY2026 Q1 was a mixed quarter for Tokai Carbon: revenue grew modestly, but operating and attributable earnings declined, with taxation producing a particularly sharp reduction in profit attributable to owners. Revenue increased 1.7% year on year to ¥81.72bn. Operating income declined 8.9% to ¥6.35bn, despite gross profit increasing 2.2% to ¥20.32bn. The gross margin improved by 20bp year on year to 24.9%, indicating that gross profitability held up at the consolidated level. However, the operating margin fell 90bp to 7.8% as SG&A increased 8.3% to ¥13.97bn, materially faster than revenue growth. Ordinary income declined by a more limited 1.9% to ¥6.18bn, supported by ¥1.39bn of non-operating income, including ¥0.61bn of foreign-exchange gains and ¥0.46bn of interest income. Profit before tax was broadly stable at ¥6.19bn, down only 1.1% year on year. Profit attributable to owners fell 47.1% to ¥1.56bn, or ¥7.29 per share, primarily because income tax expense increased to ¥3.51bn from ¥2.40bn. The effective tax rate was 56.6%, well above a normalized Japanese corporate tax rate and the principal reason the decline in attributable profit substantially exceeded the operating-income decline. The tax burden in the five-factor DuPont analysis was 25.1%, reflecting the share of consolidated profit attributable to owners after tax and non-controlling interests. The company retains a strong liquidity position, with a 266.2% current ratio, ¥86.29bn of cash, and cash equal to 16.9 times short-term loans. Leverage is moderate, with debt-to-equity of 0.87x, debt/capital of 16.5%, and interest coverage of 9.7x. Nevertheless, manufacturing working-capital efficiency is weak: annualized DSO was 72 days, annualized DIO was 143 days, and the annualized cash conversion cycle was 183 days. Carbon Black remained the core earnings business, but its segment profit fell 28.4%, while Fine Carbon also declined and the improvement in Graphite Electrodes was from a prior-year loss. The full-year plan calls for 14.6% revenue growth and 8.3% operating-income growth, implying a material acceleration beyond Q1. Q1 progress against the full-year forecast was 22.1% for sales, 22.7% for operating income, and 13.0% for profit attributable to owners. The central issues for the remainder of FY2026 are recovery in core-segment profitability, conversion of elevated inventory and receivables into cash, normalization of the tax burden, and delivery of the planned second-half earnings acceleration.
Profitability Analysis
Annualized DuPont ROE was 1.8%, decomposed into a 1.9% net profit margin, 0.497x asset turnover, and 1.87x financial leverage. The largest adverse component is the net profit margin, which is below the 3% concern threshold and was heavily reduced by the elevated tax charge. The operating margin was 7.8%, down 90bp year on year from 8.7%, placing profitability just below the 8-15% benchmark generally considered good. Gross margin improved 20bp to 24.9%, so the operating-margin compression occurred below gross profit rather than through a consolidated deterioration in production gross profitability. SG&A rose 8.3% year on year, versus 1.7% revenue growth, reducing operating leverage and absorbing the gross-profit increase. Interest burden remained healthy at 0.975, and interest coverage of 9.7x indicates financing costs are not currently the primary constraint on earnings. The tax burden of 0.251 in the five-factor framework was exceptionally low, while the reported effective tax rate was 56.6%; this reflects an unusually large tax charge relative to pre-tax income and the allocation of earnings to non-controlling interests. The HIGH_TAX_BURDEN alert is therefore material: the root cause is tax expense of ¥3.51bn against ¥6.19bn of profit before tax, versus ¥2.40bn in the prior-year quarter. Its impact is substantial because it turned a 1.1% pre-tax profit decline into a 47.1% decline in profit attributable to owners. Carbon Black is the core business by segment-profit contribution, generating ¥3.24bn of segment profit on ¥38.73bn of external sales, but its approximate segment margin fell to 8.4% from 11.6% a year earlier. Fine Carbon generated ¥2.26bn of segment profit on ¥16.40bn of sales, with its approximate margin declining to 13.8% from 19.6%. Smelting & Lining improved to ¥0.66bn of profit on ¥14.17bn of sales, raising its approximate margin to 4.6% from 1.2%. Graphite Electrodes returned to a ¥0.25bn profit from a ¥0.73bn loss, although its 3.2% approximate margin remains modest. Industrial Furnaces and Related Products recorded ¥0.33bn of profit on ¥2.36bn of sales, compared with ¥0.47bn on ¥2.13bn a year earlier. Unallocated corporate costs, including R&D expenses not assigned to segments, increased to ¥0.54bn from ¥0.43bn, further weighing on consolidated operating income.
Growth Assessment
Revenue growth of 1.7% was driven by Fine Carbon, up 13.6% year on year to ¥16.40bn, Smelting & Lining, up 9.5% to ¥14.17bn, and Industrial Furnaces, up 11.1% to ¥2.36bn. Carbon Black sales, the largest business, declined marginally by 0.5% to ¥38.73bn. Graphite Electrode sales declined 16.4% to ¥7.85bn, highlighting continuing demand and pricing volatility in this cyclical market. Segment-profit growth was uneven: Smelting & Lining increased 311.3% and Graphite Electrodes improved by ¥0.98bn year on year, but neither was sufficient to offset profit pressure in Carbon Black and Fine Carbon. Carbon Black segment profit declined ¥1.29bn year on year, while Fine Carbon fell ¥0.56bn. The full-year forecast assumes revenue of ¥370.0bn, operating income of ¥28.0bn, ordinary income of ¥26.0bn, and profit attributable to owners of ¥12.0bn. Q1 sales progress of 22.1% and operating-income progress of 22.7% are modestly below the 25% seasonal reference point but within the 10 percentage-point deviation range. Ordinary-income progress was 23.8%, also broadly consistent with the annual plan. In contrast, attributable-profit progress was 13.0%, 12.0 percentage points below the standard Q1 pace, indicating that tax normalization and/or a stronger operating recovery is required to achieve the ¥12.0bn full-year target. The forecast implies full-year operating margin of 7.6%, slightly below Q1's 7.8%, so the main challenge is not margin expansion relative to Q1 but delivery of significantly higher sales volume and normalization of below-the-line earnings. Forecast revisions are indicated, making subsequent guidance communications an important indicator of management's confidence in the expected recovery.
Financial Health
Liquidity is strong. Current assets of ¥255.55bn exceeded current liabilities of ¥96.01bn, producing working capital of ¥159.55bn and a current ratio of 266.2%. The quick ratio was also robust at 235.6%, supported by ¥86.29bn of cash and deposits and ¥64.77bn of trade receivables. There is no current-ratio warning because the ratio is well above 1.0x. Interest-bearing debt was ¥69.30bn, equivalent to 0.87x total equity, and therefore there is no D/E warning under the 2.0x threshold. Debt/capital of 16.5% is conservative and interest coverage of 9.7x provides a meaningful earnings cushion against interest expense. Short-term loans declined 34.7% year on year to ¥5.11bn from ¥7.81bn, reducing near-term refinancing reliance. Commercial paper decreased by ¥24.5bn year on year to ¥22.5bn, while bonds payable increased by ¥25.0bn to ¥90.0bn; this indicates a shift toward longer-dated funding rather than a material net debt build. Noncurrent liabilities increased by ¥25.97bn year on year to ¥210.43bn, principally consistent with this funding-term extension. Current liabilities declined by ¥30.72bn year on year, reinforcing the improvement in maturity matching. Current portions of bonds and long-term loans totalled ¥13.26bn, which are comfortably covered by cash alone. Lease obligations of ¥9.19bn are an additional fixed financing commitment, but are modest relative to equity and liquidity. Total assets declined 1.0% year on year to ¥657.65bn and total equity declined 0.5% to ¥351.21bn, while the capital adequacy ratio improved slightly to 48.2% from 47.9%. Goodwill represented 7.3% of equity and 3.9% of assets, while intangible assets represented 9.0% of assets; these ratios are not elevated under the stated M&A-risk thresholds. Deferred tax liabilities of ¥37.95bn are a notable balance-sheet obligation but do not create near-term cash refinancing pressure.
Notable B/S Changes
Bonds payable: +¥25.0bn (+38.5%) year on year to ¥90.0bn — funding shifted toward longer-dated borrowings. Commercial paper: -¥24.5bn (-52.1%) year on year to ¥22.5bn — reduced short-term market funding broadly offsets the increase in bonds and improves debt maturity structure. Noncurrent liabilities: +¥25.97bn (+14.1%) year on year to ¥210.43bn — consistent with the increase in longer-term financing. Current liabilities: -¥30.72bn (-24.2%) year on year to ¥96.01bn — supports improved liquidity and reduced short-term refinancing exposure. Short-term loans: -¥2.71bn (-34.7%) year on year to ¥5.11bn — lowers near-term bank-debt reliance. Construction in progress: -¥4.04bn (-11.5%) year on year to ¥30.95bn — suggests capital projects are progressing into commissioned assets or investment pipeline has moderated.
Cash Flow Quality
Cash-flow quality cannot be assessed directly because operating cash flow, investing cash flow, financing cash flow, capital expenditure, and free cash flow were not reported. Accordingly, no OCF-to-net-income ratio, cash-conversion ratio, accruals ratio, or free-cash-flow coverage calculation is presented. Balance-sheet indicators nevertheless point to a material working-capital cash-conversion risk. The HIGH_RECEIVABLE_DAYS alert identifies annualized DSO of 72 days, above the 60-day warning threshold, indicating slower collection than the benchmark. The HIGH_INVENTORY_DAYS alert identifies annualized DIO of 143 days, materially above the 90-day warning threshold and especially high for a carbon-materials manufacturer exposed to cyclical industrial demand and commodity-price movements. The LONG_CCC alert identifies an annualized cash conversion cycle of 183 days, above the 120-day warning level. The root cause is the combination of receivables and inventory held for extended periods relative to supplier financing. The business implication is that cash can remain tied up through a prolonged production and collection cycle even when accounting revenue and gross profit are stable. Raw materials were ¥31.66bn, work in process was ¥35.00bn, and finished goods were ¥29.35bn, indicating substantial capital embedded across the production chain. Work in process represented approximately 36% of these disclosed manufacturing inventory categories, a level that warrants monitoring for throughput constraints and demand-matching risk. Accounts receivable declined ¥2.01bn year on year, which is constructive in absolute terms, but the annualized DSO alert still indicates that turnover remains slow. Accounts payable increased ¥1.03bn year on year to ¥21.41bn, providing some supplier-financing offset, but not enough to prevent the extended cash conversion cycle. For the investment thesis, the impact is that reported earnings need to translate into working-capital release and operating cash generation before the quality of the recovery can be confirmed.
Dividend Sustainability
The full-year dividend forecast is ¥40.0 per share. Based on forecast EPS of ¥58.62, the implied dividend payout ratio is approximately 68.2%. This is above the stated 60% sustainability benchmark, although it remains below 100% and is therefore not an immediate earnings-coverage warning. Q1 EPS was ¥7.29, so the annual dividend would not be covered by Q1 earnings on a simple run-rate basis; however, the company forecast implies substantially stronger attributable earnings over the remaining quarters. The balance sheet provides support for shareholder distributions, with ¥86.29bn of cash, a 266.2% current ratio, and debt/capital of 16.5%. Dividend sustainability cannot be fully validated against free cash flow because cash-flow and capital-expenditure data were not reported. The elevated working-capital cycle is the main constraint on cash distribution capacity because high inventory and receivable days can delay cash realization. The sustainability of the ¥40 dividend therefore depends principally on achieving the ¥12.0bn full-year attributable-profit forecast, maintaining liquidity, and converting working capital into cash.
Risk Assessment
Business risks include High priority — Core Carbon Black profitability: Carbon Black segment profit fell 28.4% year on year to ¥3.24bn despite broadly stable sales, reducing the core business's approximate segment margin by about 320bp to 8.4%., High priority — Working-capital and demand risk: Annualized DIO of 143 days and CCC of 183 days indicate inventory is held for an extended period. In cyclical carbon-materials markets, weaker industrial demand or price declines could lead to inventory valuation and cash-conversion pressure., High priority — Graphite Electrode cyclicality: Sales declined 16.4% year on year to ¥7.85bn. Although the segment returned to profit, earnings remain sensitive to steel production, electrode pricing, electricity costs, and global supply-demand conditions., Medium priority — Fine Carbon margin normalization: Fine Carbon revenue increased 13.6%, but segment profit declined 19.9%, reducing approximate margin from 19.6% to 13.8%. Sustained cost pressure or adverse product mix would limit the benefit of volume growth., Medium priority — Raw-material, energy, FX, and trade exposure: Carbon-material production is sensitive to petroleum-derived feedstock and energy costs, while ¥0.61bn of Q1 FX gains demonstrate that currency movements can affect below-the-line earnings..
Financial risks include High priority — Tax burden: Income tax expense of ¥3.51bn resulted in a 56.6% effective tax rate and a 47.1% decline in profit attributable to owners. If this remains elevated, delivery of the ¥12.0bn full-year attributable-profit forecast becomes more difficult., Medium priority — Cash conversion: DSO of 72 days, DIO of 143 days, and CCC of 183 days may constrain operating cash flow and financial flexibility even though reported liquidity ratios are strong., Low priority — Refinancing and interest-rate exposure: The company has ¥90.0bn of bonds, ¥22.5bn of commercial paper, and lease obligations of ¥9.19bn. However, current liquidity, 9.7x interest coverage, and conservative debt/capital mitigate near-term solvency risk., Low priority — Acquisition-accounting and impairment exposure: Goodwill of ¥25.58bn and intangible assets of ¥59.23bn require ongoing performance delivery, but goodwill/equity of 7.3% and intangible assets/assets of 9.0% indicate limited balance-sheet concentration..
Key concerns include The HIGH_TAX_BURDEN alert is the most immediate earnings-quality concern: a high effective tax rate sharply weakened attributable earnings despite stable pre-tax income., The CAPITAL_EFFICIENCY alert, with ROIC of 3.8%, indicates returns remain below the 5% warning threshold and below an adequate level for a capital-intensive manufacturer., The HIGH_RECEIVABLE_DAYS, HIGH_INVENTORY_DAYS, and LONG_CCC alerts collectively indicate that management execution on inventory discipline, production planning, collections, and customer credit terms is central to improving cash returns., SG&A growth of 8.3% materially exceeded sales growth of 1.7%, creating negative operating leverage and requiring closer monitoring of cost control., The FY2026 forecast requires a significant increase in post-Q1 attributable earnings because Q1 achieved only 13.0% of the full-year target..
Investment Implications
Key takeaways include Q1 consolidated revenue was resilient, but operating-income decline and SG&A deleveraging show that revenue stability has not yet translated into stronger operating leverage., Carbon Black remains the principal earnings driver, making recovery in its segment margin the most important operating variable., The balance sheet is liquid and conservatively capitalized, limiting near-term balance-sheet stress despite meaningful bonds and commercial paper., Elevated taxes and weak working-capital efficiency are more consequential for shareholder earnings and cash generation than the modest decline in pre-tax income suggests., The full-year operating-income forecast is broadly compatible with Q1 progress, but the attributable-profit target depends on improvement below the operating line..
Metrics to watch include Carbon Black segment sales and segment margin, Fine Carbon segment margin and product mix, Annualized DSO, DIO, DPO, and cash conversion cycle, Operating cash flow and free cash flow once reported, Effective tax rate and profit attributable to owners, Q2 progress versus full-year sales, operating-income, and attributable-profit forecasts, Graphite Electrode order conditions, pricing, and profitability, ROIC improvement from the reported 3.8%.
Regarding relative positioning, Tokai Carbon combines a capital-intensive manufacturing asset base, with PPE equal to 43.9% of total assets, and a currently strong liquidity and solvency profile. Its key relative weakness is low return efficiency: annualized ROE is 1.8%, ROIC is 3.8%, and net margin is 1.9%. Relative to a financially stressed cyclical manufacturer, the company has substantial balance-sheet resilience; relative to a high-quality specialty-materials peer, its returns, working-capital discipline, and core-segment margin trajectory require improvement.