Quick View
| Metric | Period | Year-ago Period | YoY |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ¥255.8B | ¥288.1B | −11.2% |
| Operating Income | ¥20.9B | ¥27.1B | −22.6% |
| Ordinary Income | ¥19.3B | ¥26.1B | −26.1% |
| Net Income | ¥13.7B | ¥17.9B | −23.4% |
| ROE | 1.9% | 2.5% | - |
Executive Summary
The Q1 results for FY2026 show Revenue of ¥255.8B (YoY -¥32.3B, -11.2%), Operating Income of ¥20.9B (YoY -¥6.1B, -22.6%), Ordinary Income of ¥19.3B (YoY -¥6.8B, -26.1%), and Net Income attributable to owners of parent of ¥13.5B (YoY -¥4.2B, -23.8%). Operating in a single Chemicals Business segment, the company experienced revenue decline due to concurrent volume decreases and selling price declines, and operating margin weakened to 8.2% (down -1.2pt from 9.4% a year earlier) due to weaker fixed-cost absorption. Ordinary Income was supported by equity-method income of ¥0.8B, but non-operating expenses increased by ¥2.1B, and double-digit declines persisted through the Net Income line. Progress against the full-year plan is weak at 2.2% of Revenue and 1.5% of Operating Income versus the standard 25%, implying a back-end weighted recovery scenario is assumed.
Drivers of Performance
【Revenue】 Revenue was ¥255.8B, down ¥32.3B (−11.2%) year-on-year. As a single-segment Chemicals Business, detailed product breakdowns are not disclosed, but volume declines and selling price reductions proceeded in parallel. Cost of sales was ¥200.5B (vs ¥228.2B a year earlier), down ¥27.6B; due to cost reductions smaller than the revenue decline, gross profit decreased to ¥55.3B (vs ¥59.9B a year earlier), down ¥4.6B, while gross margin improved to 21.6% (up +0.8pt from 20.8% a year earlier). Stabilization of raw material prices and improvements in product mix are inferred to have supported the gross margin.
【P&L】 Selling, general and administrative expenses were ¥34.3B (vs ¥32.9B a year earlier), up ¥1.5B (+4.5%), so fixed costs increased counter to the revenue decline. SG&A ratio rose to 13.4% (up +2.0pt from 11.4% a year earlier), and Operating Income was ¥20.9B (vs ¥27.1B a year earlier), down ¥6.1B (−22.6%); Operating margin deteriorated to 8.2% (down −1.2pt from 9.4%). In non-operating items, equity-method investment income of ¥0.8B and interest and dividend income of ¥0.2B contributed to non-operating income of ¥0.4B, while non-operating expenses including interest expense of ¥0.6B totaled ¥2.1B, resulting in net non-operating loss of −¥1.6B. Ordinary Income was ¥19.3B (vs ¥26.1B a year earlier), down ¥6.8B (−26.1%), and Ordinary Income margin was 7.5% (down −1.5pt from 9.1%). No extraordinary items were recorded, so profit before income taxes equals Ordinary Income at ¥19.3B. Income taxes were ¥5.5B (effective tax rate 28.8%), and Net Income attributable to non-controlling interests was ¥0.2B, leaving Net Income attributable to owners of parent at ¥13.5B (vs ¥17.7B a year earlier), down ¥4.2B (−23.8%). Net margin was 5.3% (down −0.9pt from 6.1%). In conclusion, weaker fixed-cost absorption due to lower revenue caused operating leverage to reverse, resulting in a revenue and profit decline.
Key Financial Metrics
【Profitability】Operating margin of 8.2% deteriorated −1.2pt from 9.4% a year earlier. While gross margin improved to 21.6% (+0.8pt), SG&A ratio rose to 13.4% (+2.0pt), and weaker fixed-cost absorption pressured margins. Ordinary Income margin was 7.5% (down −1.5pt from 9.1%), and Net margin was 5.3% (down −0.9pt from 6.1%). ROE was 1.9%, a significant decline from the prior-year capital base, primarily driven by lower Net Income and reduced asset efficiency. 【Cash Quality】Interest coverage, Operating Income ¥20.9B ÷ Interest paid ¥0.6B = 37.4x, shows strong tolerance for interest burden. Cash and deposits were ¥38.8B, down ¥28.4B (−42.3%) from ¥67.2B a year earlier, reflecting large payables reductions and working capital adjustments. 【Investment Efficiency】Total asset turnover annualized is about 0.84x (quarterly Revenue ¥255.8B × 4 ÷ Total assets ¥1,222.5B), remaining low. Inventories of ¥174.8B (vs ¥194.8B a year earlier) declined but remain skewed toward product inventories; receivables ¥297.9B (vs ¥328.8B a year earlier) are still high, and heavy working capital constrains asset efficiency. 【Financial Soundness】Equity Ratio was 59.4% (up +3.6pt from 55.8% a year earlier), solid. Current ratio improved to 160.4% (up +11.7pt from 148.7%), and quick ratio to 113.4% (up +8.2pt from 105.2%), indicating improved short-term liquidity. Interest-bearing debt totals ¥194.0B comprising short-term borrowings ¥104.0B, corporate bonds ¥50.0B, and commercial paper ¥40.0B, giving a 100% short-term debt ratio and a notable maturity mismatch. Cash ÷ short-term interest-bearing debt is 0.27x, thin, indicating high refinancing dependence. Debt/Equity ratio is 26.7%, reflecting a conservative capital structure.
Cash Flow Analysis
Although a full cash flow statement is not disclosed, balance sheet movements indicate cash trends: Cash and deposits declined to ¥38.8B from ¥67.2B a year earlier (−¥28.4B, −42.3%). Receivables decreased to ¥297.9B from ¥328.8B (−¥30.8B, −9.4%), generating cash through lower sales and improved collections; however, payables decreased to ¥132.0B from ¥224.0B a year earlier (−¥92.0B, −41.1%), and compression of trade payables absorbed liquidity. Inventories fell to ¥174.8B from ¥194.8B (−¥20.0B, −10.3%), indicating normalization. Commercial paper increased to ¥40.0B from ¥20.0B (+¥20.0B), supplementing liquidity via short-term funding. Overall, while receivables collection and inventory reduction generated cash, rapid payables compression absorbed working capital, resulting in a net decline in cash balances. This appears to be a temporary cash squeeze associated with simultaneous adjustment of inventories, receivables, and payables.
Quality of Earnings
Non-operating income of ¥0.4B centered on equity-method investment income ¥0.8B and interest/dividend income ¥0.2B, small in scale and limited in one-off nature. Non-operating expenses of ¥2.1B were mainly interest expense of ¥0.6B; financial costs are minor at about 3% of Operating Income. Comprehensive income was ¥18.5B (¥18.3B attributable to owners of parent), and the ¥4.8B difference from Net Income ¥13.5B breaks down into valuation gains on available-for-sale securities ¥4.9B, foreign currency translation adjustments ¥0.1B, and pension-related adjustments −¥0.2B. Market valuation gains on securities boosted comprehensive income, so core operating profitability should be assessed on a Net Income basis. From an accrual perspective, simultaneous compression of receivables and payables caused working capital to absorb cash, likely widening the gap between Operating Income and Operating Cash Flow. The difference between Ordinary Income and Net Income is mainly tax burden and non-controlling interests; there is no evidence of distortions from accounting standard differences or extraordinary items. Earnings quality is closely tied to core volume/price trends and fixed-cost absorption.
Forecasts & Guidance
Full-year plan: Revenue ¥1,140.0B (YoY −1.0%), Operating Income ¥135.0B (YoY +20.0%), Ordinary Income ¥126.0B (YoY +16.7%), Net Income attributable to owners of parent ¥87.0B. Q1 progress rates are Revenue 2.2%, Operating Income 1.5%, Ordinary Income 1.5%, Net Income 1.5%, well below the standard 25% progress. Achieving the full-year plan requires a back-end weighted scenario with volume recovery, selling price correction, completion of inventory normalization, and control of fixed costs from Q2 onward. Whether progress rates approach a 50% level by Q2 will be a litmus test for full-year plan feasibility.
Shareholder Returns
Interim dividend per share at the end of Q1 is ¥52.5 (interim dividend). Full-year dividend forecast is ¥55.0, implying a payout ratio of approximately 22% against company-plan EPS ¥248.51, a conservative level. The interim dividend matches the prior-year interim dividend of ¥52.5, reflecting emphasis on dividend policy stability. Against the full-year Net Income plan of ¥87.0B attributable to owners of parent, total dividends are approximately ¥19.3B (outstanding shares 37,149 thousand − treasury stock 2,141 thousand × ¥55), which is coverable by retained earnings and cash balance. No share buyback is disclosed; shareholder returns are concentrated in dividends. Given cash and deposits ¥38.8B and a 100% short-term debt ratio, dividend capacity is somewhat constrained short-term, but the likelihood of continued dividends is high considering potential recovery in Operating Cash Flow and liquidity buffer in investment securities ¥92.2B.
Risk Factors
-
Prolonged demand weakness and selling price declines: The −11.2% Revenue decline reflects downward pressure from both volume and price. If weak chemical market conditions persist, spread compression and worsening fixed-cost absorption could further reduce Operating margin. Failure of the assumed back-end recovery scenario would make achieving Operating Income ¥135.0B difficult.
-
Cash squeeze from working capital adjustment: Receivables −¥30.8B and payables −¥92.0B led to working capital absorption and cash and deposits down −¥28.4B. Simultaneous inventory reduction and trade payables compression can strain short-term liquidity, and reliance on refinancing of short-term borrowings ¥104.0B and commercial paper ¥40.0B raises refinancing and funding-cost risk in a rising-rate environment.
-
Rising fixed costs and deteriorating operating leverage: SG&A rose to ¥34.3B (vs ¥32.9B a year earlier), up ¥1.5B (+4.5%), increasing contrary to revenue decline. SG&A ratio rose to 13.4% (up +2.0pt), and if revenue recovery is delayed, fixed-cost absorption will weaken further, prolonging Operating margin deterioration. Achieving full-year targets requires absolute restraint on SG&A and simultaneous revenue recovery.
Industry Benchmark (reference, company estimate)
Profitability & Returns
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | 8.2% | 6.8% (2.9%–9.0%) | +1.3pt |
| Net Margin | 5.4% | 5.9% (3.3%–7.7%) | −0.6pt |
Although Operating Margin exceeds the industry median, the deterioration from the prior year is notable and the company’s relative advantage appears to be narrowing.
Growth & Capital Efficiency
| Metric | Company | Median (IQR) | Delta |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue Growth (YoY) | −11.2% | 13.2% (2.5%–28.5%) | −24.3pt |
Revenue growth lags the industry median significantly, reflecting softer chemical market conditions compared with peers.
※ Source: Company compilation
Points of Focus in the Results
-
Key to full-year attainment is realization of back-end recovery: Q1 progress rates of Revenue 2.2% and Operating Income 1.5% are well below the standard 25%, and achieving the full-year Operating Income target of ¥135.0B (+20.0% YoY) requires concurrent volume recovery, selling price correction, completion of inventory normalization, and SG&A restraint from Q2 onward. Whether progress rates approach 50% at Q2 will be the litmus test; monitor quarterly trends in Operating margin and Revenue.
-
Cash management during working capital adjustment: Simultaneous compression of receivables, payables and inventories led to a ¥28.4B (−42.3%) decline in cash and deposits, and with short-term interest-bearing debt of ¥144.0B, the cash cushion is thin at ¥38.8B. Until inventory digestion and receivables collection normalize Operating Cash Flow, refinancing dependence on short-term borrowings and commercial paper will remain high, and interest-rate and market funding conditions will directly impact cash flow. Investment securities ¥92.2B could serve as a liquidity buffer, but are subject to market price volatility.
-
Fixed-cost control and reversal of operating leverage: SG&A increased +4.5% despite revenue decline, raising SG&A ratio to 13.4% (up +2.0pt). Achieving the full-year plan requires absolute control of SG&A and revenue recovery to improve fixed-cost absorption; quarterly SG&A ratio and Operating margin trends will signal reversal of operating leverage. Gross margin improved +0.8pt, and if raw material price stability and product-mix improvements continue, profit elasticity in a revenue recovery phase could be expected.
This report is an AI-generated financial analysis document created by analyzing XBRL earnings release data. It does not constitute a recommendation to invest in any specific security. Industry benchmarks are reference information compiled by the company based on public financial statements. Investment decisions are your responsibility; consult a professional advisor as needed.
AI Financial Analysis
Executive Summary
KH Neochem’s FY2026 Q1 result was weak versus the prior-year quarter, with lower sales and operating leverage driving a material earnings decline. Revenue fell 11.2% YoY to ¥25.58bn. Operating income declined 22.6% to ¥2.09bn. Profit attributable to owners declined 23.8% to ¥1.35bn. Gross profit decreased 7.2% to ¥5.53bn, less sharply than revenue. Consequently, gross margin improved by 81bp YoY to 21.6% from 20.8%. However, SG&A expense increased 4.8% YoY to ¥3.43bn despite the sales decline. This reduced the operating margin by 120bp to 8.2% from 9.4%. Net margin contracted by 87bp to 5.3% from 6.1%. Ordinary income fell faster than operating income, down 26.1% YoY to ¥1.93bn, as non-operating expenses exceeded non-operating income by ¥0.17bn. The Q1 effective tax rate was 28.8%, leaving a tax burden of 0.700, which was broadly normal. Annualized ROE was 7.4%, below the 8% threshold generally associated with an adequate return profile. The company’s full-year forecast calls for a 20.0% increase in operating income despite a 1.0% sales decline, implying that margin recovery is central to the full-year outcome. Q1 progress was only 22.4% for sales and 15.5% for operating income, versus a standard 25% first-quarter run rate. The shortfall in profit progress means that subsequent quarters need a substantial improvement in profitability to achieve guidance. Balance-sheet liquidity ratios remain sound, but the very high reliance on short-term debt and extended working-capital cycle warrant close attention. Inventory composition is heavily weighted toward finished goods, which makes demand normalization and inventory monetization important variables for the earnings recovery.
Profitability Analysis
Annualized DuPont ROE was 7.4%, comprising a 5.3% net profit margin, 0.837x annualized asset turnover, and 1.68x financial leverage. The principal pressure on returns was profitability: the net margin fell to 5.3%, while operating margin declined to 8.2%. The gross-margin expansion to 21.6% indicates that gross profitability and/or product mix improved despite the 11.2% revenue reduction. The deterioration below gross profit arose from operating leverage, because SG&A rose 4.8% to ¥3.43bn while revenue fell ¥3.23bn. SG&A absorbed 13.4% of sales, versus 11.4% in the prior-year quarter, and this deleveraging more than offset the 81bp gross-margin improvement. Operating income therefore fell by ¥0.61bn, or 22.6%, to ¥2.09bn. Below operating income, the interest burden was still healthy at 0.920 and interest coverage was strong at 37.39x, so financing cost was not the primary cause of the earnings decline. The tax burden of 0.700 and effective tax rate of 28.8% were consistent with ordinary income converting normally into net income. The annualized 0.837x asset-turnover component is moderate for a capital-intensive chemical manufacturer, whose PPE accounts for 39.4% of total assets. Sustained recovery in ROE therefore depends mainly on restoring operating margin through better volume utilization and SG&A absorption rather than adding leverage.
Growth Assessment
The Q1 sales decline of 11.2% and operating-income decline of 22.6% point to weak near-term volume and/or selling-price conditions. Gross profit fell only 7.2%, demonstrating some resilience in unit economics, but insufficient revenue scale prevented this from translating into operating-profit stability. Finished goods were ¥174.80bn? No, finished goods were ¥17.48bn and represented the reported inventory balance, while raw materials were ¥4.76bn and work in process was ¥0.54bn. The concentration in finished goods raises the importance of shipment recovery and inventory discipline. Full-year guidance assumes revenue of ¥114.00bn, down 1.0% YoY, but operating income of ¥13.50bn, up 20.0% YoY, implying a forecast operating margin of 11.8%. This is 360bp above the Q1 margin of 8.2%. Q1 sales progress of 22.4% is modestly below the 25% seasonal benchmark, while operating-income progress of 15.5% is 9.5 percentage points below that benchmark. Ordinary-income and profit-attributable-to-owners progress were both approximately 15%, also below the normal first-quarter pace. Guidance was not revised, so management continues to expect a marked profit recovery after Q1. Achieving that outcome requires both sales normalization and a meaningful reduction in the SG&A-to-sales ratio. As the group operates in a single chemicals segment, the core business is the chemical products business.
Financial Health
Liquidity is adequate on conventional balance-sheet measures, with a current ratio of 160.4%, a quick ratio of 113.4%, and working capital of ¥22.45bn. These ratios do not indicate a current-asset shortfall against current liabilities. Total equity was ¥72.59bn and total liabilities were ¥49.66bn, supporting a 57.0% capital adequacy ratio. The reported debt-to-equity ratio was 0.68x, below the 2.0x level associated with aggressive leverage, while debt-to-capital was conservative at 12.5%. Interest coverage of 37.39x also indicates ample current earnings capacity to service interest expense. Nonetheless, the quality alert on refinancing risk is material: the short-term debt ratio is 100.0%, meaning debt refinancing is concentrated in the near term. Short-term loans were ¥10.40bn and commercial paper was ¥4.00bn, while cash and deposits were only ¥3.88bn. Cash covered just 0.37x of short-term debt, triggering the liquidity-stress alert and leaving the company dependent on operating cash collection and continued access to bank and CP markets. Current liabilities of ¥37.15bn also exceed cash by a wide margin, although receivables of ¥29.79bn and inventories of ¥17.48bn provide substantial current-asset coverage. Bonds payable were ¥5.00bn and lease obligations totaled ¥1.38bn across current and non-current portions. Defined-benefit liabilities were ¥2.31bn, representing an additional long-term obligation. Goodwill was only ¥0.67bn, or 0.9% of equity and 0.5% of assets, so the balance sheet has minimal M&A-related valuation or impairment dependence.
Notable B/S Changes
Cash and deposits: -¥2.84bn (-42.3%) YoY to ¥3.88bn - reduced immediate liquidity and contributed to a low 0.37x cash-to-short-term-debt ratio. Accounts payable: -¥9.20bn (-41.1%) YoY to ¥13.20bn - lower supplier financing increases the funding burden of the operating cycle. Current assets: -¥7.65bn YoY to ¥59.61bn - primarily reflects lower cash, receivables, and inventory, although the current ratio remains 160.4%. Current liabilities: -¥8.08bn YoY to ¥37.15bn - liability reduction supported liquidity ratios, but funding remains concentrated in short-term maturities.
Cash Flow Quality
Working-capital intensity is the principal cash-quality concern. Annualized receivable days were 106 days, materially above the 60-day warning threshold, indicating slow conversion of sales into cash. The quality alert for high receivable days is therefore significant because accounts receivable totaled ¥29.79bn, equal to 24.4% of total assets. Inventory days were flagged at 80 days and 104 days under the reported alert calculations, both above the relevant 60-day and 90-day warning thresholds. Inventories totaled ¥17.48bn, or 14.3% of total assets, and the reported inventory balance is concentrated in finished goods. The cash conversion cycle was flagged at 150 days, well above the 120-day warning level, indicating material cash absorption between procurement, production, sales, and collection. Payables declined by ¥9.20bn YoY to ¥13.20bn, a 41.1% reduction, which reduces supplier financing and can further increase cash requirements. Cash and deposits declined by ¥2.84bn YoY to ¥3.88bn. These movements make receivables collection, finished-goods sell-through, and payable management central to near-term liquidity management.
Dividend Sustainability
The full-year dividend forecast is ¥110.00 per share, with no revision disclosed. Based on forecast EPS of ¥248.51, the implied dividend payout ratio is 44.3%. This is below the 60% sustainability benchmark and leaves room for retained earnings under the company’s forecast assumptions. The forecast dividend is also supported by owners’ equity of ¥69.66bn and retained earnings of ¥56.02bn. Dividend sustainability is nevertheless linked to delivery of the full-year earnings plan, because Q1 EPS was ¥38.49, representing only 15.5% of forecast EPS. The elevated working-capital cycle and 0.37x cash-to-short-term-debt ratio mean that liquidity conversion should be monitored alongside reported earnings when assessing dividend capacity.
Risk Assessment
Business risks include Chemical-market demand and pricing risk: Q1 revenue fell 11.2% YoY, and the full-year profit recovery requires stronger shipment volumes and/or mix after a weak start., Operating-leverage risk: SG&A increased 4.8% while revenue declined 11.2%, causing a 120bp operating-margin contraction to 8.2%., Inventory risk: finished goods of ¥17.48bn and high inventory-day alerts of 80-104 days create risk of slower sell-through, discounting, or additional working-capital absorption., Chemical-industry cost risk: earnings remain exposed to fluctuations in feedstock, energy, and logistics costs, particularly if selling prices cannot be adjusted promptly..
Financial risks include Refinancing risk is elevated because the quality alert identifies a 100.0% short-term debt ratio; short-term funding must be regularly rolled over., Liquidity stress is present despite healthy current and quick ratios because cash of ¥3.88bn covers only 0.37x of short-term debt., Collection risk is elevated, with annualized DSO of 106 days and receivables of ¥29.79bn., Supplier-financing risk increased as accounts payable fell 41.1% YoY to ¥13.20bn, reducing a prior source of operating funding..
Key concerns include The Q1 operating-income progress rate of 15.5% is below the 25% seasonal benchmark, while full-year guidance assumes a 20.0% YoY operating-income increase., The reported 150-day cash conversion cycle indicates that earnings recovery may not immediately translate into liquidity improvement., Annualized ROE of 7.4% remains below the 8% benchmark, with margin restoration rather than balance-sheet leverage required to improve returns., The high-inventory-day alerts must be monitored in both reported forms, at 80 days and 104 days, because either measure signals inefficient inventory conversion..
Investment Implications
Key takeaways include Q1 gross-margin improvement was encouraging, but SG&A deleveraging drove operating margin down to 8.2% and reduced profit faster than sales., Full-year guidance embeds a substantial margin rebound, with forecast operating margin of 11.8% versus 8.2% in Q1., Liquidity ratios are healthy, but cash-to-short-term-debt of 0.37x and complete short-term debt reliance elevate refinancing sensitivity., Low goodwill exposure limits acquisition-accounting and impairment risk., Working-capital normalization is a key condition for improved financial flexibility..
Metrics to watch include Quarterly revenue growth and operating margin versus the 11.8% full-year forecast margin, SG&A growth relative to sales growth, Annualized DSO, inventory days, and the cash conversion cycle, Cash and deposits relative to short-term debt and commercial paper, Finished-goods inventory balance and accounts-payable trends, Progress against full-year operating-income guidance of ¥13.50bn.
Regarding relative positioning, The company combines a solid equity base, strong interest coverage, and low M&A-related balance-sheet risk with weaker near-term earnings momentum and an unusually elongated working-capital profile. Its investment profile is therefore more dependent on margin recovery and working-capital execution than on deleveraging.